Social Justice in Education Award
Social Justice in Education Award


2018 Recipient

Sylvia Hurtado
University of California, Los Angeles

Dr. Sylvia Hurtado is a professor of higher education in the UCLA Graduate School of Education and Information Studies. Her commitment to social justice in higher education has been consistent throughout her career, for example through an internationally recognized program of scholarship about how colleges are preparing students to participate in a diverse democracy, and about the pathways of underrepresented students in scientific research and professional careers. Dr. Hurtado’s work has been critical in understanding degree attainment and helping diverse campuses move the needle on their graduation rates for low-income, first-generation, and underrepresented racial/ethnic groups.


In recognition of the 50th anniversary of the Brown v. Board of Education decision, the 40th anniversary of the passage of the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the 30th anniversary of the Lau v. Nichols decision, the Social Justice Action Committee launches a new award—the Social Justice in Education Award—and invites nominations of individuals who have advanced social justice through education research. The recipient of the award should exemplify the goal of linking education research to social justice.             

Past Recipients

2017 - Estela Mara Bensimon
2016 - Kevin Kumashiro
2015 - Gloria J. Ladson-Billings
2014 - Michael A. Olivas
2013 - Jeannie Oakes
2012 - Daniel G. Solorzano
2011 - William C. Ayers
2010 - Carl A. Grant
2009 - Christine E. Sleeter
2008 - Sonia Nieto
2007 - Gary A. Orfield
2006 - Gwendolyn C. Baker
2005 - Jacqueline J. Irvine
2004 - James A. Banks 

Call for Award Nominations

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH