Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards
Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards
Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards

2023 Award Recipients

Distinguished Career Contribution Award
William A. Smith
University of Utah

Dr. William Smith is the recipient of the 2023 Scholars of Color in Education Distinguished Career Contribution Award. Dr. Smith’s work examines the ways that emotional and psychological stressors around race and racism play in the success or failure of minoritized students. In 2003, Dr. Smith coined the theoretical concept “racial battle fatigue.” Dr. Smith’s research influences numerous fields including higher education policy, engineering, sociology, social psychology, and mental health. Dr. Smith’s colleagues note his commitment to manhood, scholarship, perseverance, and uplift, the cardinal principles of his beloved fraternity, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., where Dr. Smith is hailed as a leader, advocate, and mentor.

The Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award is awarded to a senior-level scholar, usually 20 years or more after their receipt of the doctoral degree. 

Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award
Thandeka K. Chapman
University of California, San Diego

Dr. Thandeka K. Chapman is the 2023 recipient of the Scholars of Color in Education Mid-Career Contribution Award. Dr. Chapman grounds her work in Critical Race Theory (CRT) and social justice and explores issues of equity and justice regarding choice and charter schools, student experiences in mixed-race schools, and social justice education. Dr. Chapman’s work has extended to international contexts including the UK, Indonesia, Copenhagen, Norway, and Singapore. This international reach is important as justice work has become a global issue with which scholars of color must engage.

The Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award is awarded to a scholar who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom at least 10 years have passed since receipt of the doctoral degree. 

Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award
Mildred Boveda
Pennsylvania State University

Dr. Mildred Boveda is the 2023 recipient of the Scholars of Color in Education Early Career Contribution Award. Dr. Boveda’s scholarship is interdisciplinary in nature as she attends to the complexities of teaching and learning across P-20+ general and special education contexts. She is committed to high-quality research centering Black feminist and intersectional frameworks. Dr. Boveda has published 19 peer-reviewed articles, 10 book chapters, and a co-edited book. Dr. Boveda continues to refine two tools she developed during her dissertation research: The Intersectional Competence Measure and the Intersectional Consciousness Collaboration Protocol. Dr. Boveda’s deep expertise and research using critical and anti-oppression frameworks is pushing forward the field of special education.

The Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award is awarded to a scholar who is within the first ten (10) years of their career after receipt of the doctoral degree.

These three awards are intended to recognize (1) scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues which disproportionately affect minority populations, and (2) minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to educational research and development.
 The AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education is charged by AERA Council with serving as the selection committee for these awards.

Past Recipients

Distinguished Career Contribution Award
2022 - Alfredo J. Artiles
2021 - Zeus Leonardo
2020 - ​María Estela Brisk
2019 - Patricia A. Edwards
2018 - Rubén Donato
2017 - Antonia Darder
2016 - Walter R. Allen
2015 - Patricia C. Gándara
2014 - Award not given
2013 - Jo-ann Archibald
2012 - Celia S. Genishi
2011-Henry T. Frierson
2010 - Carol Camp Yeakey
2009 - Caroline Sotello Viernes Turner
2008 - James D. Anderson
2007 - Karen Swisher
2006 - Sonia Nieto
2005 - Donna Ford
2004 - Enrique "Henry" T. Trueba
2003 - Okhee Lee
2002 - Samuel S. Peng
2001 - Richard R. Valencia
2000 - Joyce King
1999 - Flora Rodriguez Brown
1998 - Walter G. Secada
1997 - Valerie Ooka Pang
1996 - James Banks
1995 - Ronald Takaki
1994 - Edmund Gordon
1993 - Carl Grant

Mid-Career Contribution Award
2022 - Sonya Douglass Horsford
2021 - Megan Bang 
2020 - Adrienne Dixson
2019 - Karolyn Tyson
2018 - Kakali Bhattacharya
2017 - James L. Moore III
2016 - Sherick A. Hughes
2015 - Kevin K. Kumashiro

2014 - Janelle T. Scott
2013 - Sharon Nelson-Barber
2012 - Christine Jean Yeh
2011 - Jerlando F. L. Jackson 
2010 - Dolores Delgado Bernal
2009 - Cynthia Hudley
2008 - Carol D. Lee and Francisco A. Rios
2007 - Kris Gutierrez
2006 - Madonna G. Constantine
2005 - Maria E. Franquiz
2004 - Michèle L. Foster
2003 - No award presented
2002 - No award presented
2001 - Christian J. Faltis
2000 - Lin Goodwin
1999 - Kofi Lomotey
1998 - Asa G. Hilliard III
1997 - Jacqueline Jordan Irvine
1996 - Celia Genishi
1995 - Christine Sleeter
1994 - Kenji Hakuta
1993 - Concepcion M. Valadez

Early Career Contribution Award
2022 - Krystal L. Williams
2021 - Bianca Baldridge
2020 - Jessica Harris
2019 - Aydin Bal
2018 - Nicole M. Joseph
2017 - María C. Ledesma
2016 - Roberto G. Gonzales
2015 - Ebony O. McGee
2014 - Dorinda Carter Andrews and Eve Tuck
2013 - Vichet Chhuon
2012 - Brendesha M. Tynes
2011 - Bic H. Ngo 
2010 - Valerie Kinloch
2009 - Bryan McKinley Jones Brayboy
2008 - Lamont A. Flowers
2007 - Tyrone C. Howard & Michele S. Moses
2006 - Rich Milner
2006 - Gregory Tanaka
2005 - Cornel D. Pewewardy
2004 - Linda C. Tillman
2003 - Xin Ma
2002 - M. Christopher Brown II
2001 - Alfredo J. Artiles
2000 - William F. Tate
1999 - John W. Young
1998 - Vivian L. Gadsden
1997 - Oscar Kawagley
1996 - Donna Yvette Ford
1995 - Gloria Ladson-Billings
1994 - Ana Maria Villegas
1993 - Violet Harris




Nominate for 2024 Awards

The nomination deadline has passed.