AERA Leadership
AERA Leadership
  Executive Director
Felice J. Levine

Felice J. Levine is Executive Director of the American Educational Research Association. Previously she was Executive Officer of the American Sociological Association. She was also Director of the Law and Social Science Program at the National Science Foundation (NSF) and Senior Research Social Scientist at the American Bar Foundation. She holds A.B., A.M., and Ph.D. degrees in sociology and psychology from the University of Chicago.    

Executive Director's  Statement on AERA  


Na'ilah Suad Nasir​

Na'ilah Suad Nasir, president of the Spencer Foundation was voted president-elect of AERA in 2020. Her presidency began at the conclusion of the 2021 Annual Meeting.

learn more»


Rich Milner

H. Richard Milner IV, Cornelius Vanderbilt Distinguished Professor of Education in the Department of Teaching and Learning at Vanderbilt University’s Peabody College of Education and Human Development, has been voted president-elect of the American Educational Research Association (AERA). His presidency begins at the conclusion of the 2022 Annual Meeting.

learn more»




Immediate Past President
Shaun Harper

Shaun Harper, a Provost Professor in the Rossier School of Education and Marshall School of Business at the University of Southern California, was voted president-elect of AERA in 2019. 

learn more» 





Honorary President
Edmund W. Gordon

Edmund W. Gordon, a distinguished education researcher renowned for his pioneering scholarship on the gaps in education opportunities and supports for children of color and low-income students, was named AERA honorary president. Gordon, the first person in AERA’s 105-year history to receive this recognition, was installed as honorary president at the association’s 2021 Virtual Annual Meeting.

learn more»

Past Presidents

AERA Presidents 1915 - 2020 

Follow AERA
AERA Facebook page AERA Twitter Feed AERA Youtube Page AERA on Linkedin
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH