Distinguished Public Service Award
Distinguished Public Service Award
Distinguished Public Service Award

2020 Award Recipient 

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)

First elected to Congress in 1992, the Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson has tirelessly championed diversity, equity, and inclusion in STEM education and the workforce. She has worked in a bipartisan manner to promote research and data collection to help develop strategies to increase participation of women and minorities in STEM.  She championed the America COMPETES Act and other legislation emphasizing research and data use to inform National Science Foundation policy and programs and federal funding for STEM research and infrastructure. As current chair of the House Science, Space, and Technology Committee, she has prioritized understanding and addressing sexual harassment in science.

The Distinguished Public Service Award is granted annually in recognition of an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies that are well grounded in education research, or who has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research. The recipient will be invited either to deliver an address or to participate in a panel discussion during the following Annual Meeting on a topic relevant to their contribution and expertise. The AERA Government Relations Committee is charged by AERA Council with serving as the selection committee for this award.

Past Recipients

2019 - George Miller
2018 - Donna E. Shalala
2017 - 
Michael W. Kirst
2016 - Shirley Malcom
2015 - Joseph Conaty
2014 - Ruby Takanishi
2013 - Freeman A. Hrabowski III
2012 - Jerry D. Weast
2011 - Emerson J. Elliott
2010 - Beverly L. Hall
2008 - Bruce Alberts
2007 - Jack Jennings
2005 - Ronald A. Wolk
2004 - Richard C. Atkinson
2003 - James B. Hunt

Call for Award Nominations

The nomination deadline has passed.

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH