Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award
Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award
Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award

2022 Award Recipient 

Robin Starr Zape-tah-hol-ah Minthorn
University of Washington, Tacoma

The 2022 Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award goes to Dr. Robin Zape-tah-hol-ah Minthorn. As a practice-engaged researcher whose work is steeped in social justice principles, Dr. Minthorn has advanced community-centered partnerships with tribal communities in the Southwestern and Pacific Northwest regions of the U.S. Colleagues have lauded Dr. Minthorn’s unwavering commitment to decolonizing educational leadership and centering Indigenous paradigms in ways that embody her notion of “heartwork.” Together, Dr. Minthorn’s communal praxis and groundbreaking scholarship in higher education have had transformative effects locally and within the academy at large.

The Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award is presented to an education research scholar or scholars in recognition of collaborative project(s) between researchers and practitioners that have had sustained and observable effects on contexts of practice.

Research conducted in settings in which collaboration between researchers and practitioners is integral to addressing challenging issues, constructing research-based innovations, or undertaking research‐based evaluations that have an impact beyond a single program or site are eligible for consideration. 

For purposes of this award, practice settings are understood to span the spectrum of educational contexts and levels of education, including informal environments, in which learning occurs. This award excludes work designed to influence the larger public or policy makers, or to have an indirect influence on education settings or practice though publications or research. 

The award will be presented annually, but may represent work conducted within a five-year time frame preceding the year in which the award is conferred. 

Past Recipients

2021 - Okhee Lee
2020 - 
Maria Coady
2019 - Cristina Santamaría Graff
2018 - Angela Calabrese Barton
2017 - 
Ann M. Ishimaru
2016 - Robert Cooper III

Before 2016, this award was recognized as the Relating Research to Practice Award. 


Call for Award Nominations

Deadline: October 13, 2022