2021 Division Awards
2021 Division Awards
Division Awards

View Division awardees below: 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 |  2020 |  2019 |  2018 |  2017 |  2016 |  2015 |  2014 |  2013   

2021 Division Award Winners 

Division A: Administration, Organization, and Leadership
Emerging Scholar Award: Miriam Ezzani and Jason Salisbury
Outstanding Dissertation Award: René Espinoza Kissell

Division B: Curriculum Studies
Ella Baker/Septima Clark Human Rights Award: Daisaku Ikeda
Lifetime Achievement Award: Carter G. Woodson
Outstanding Book Award: Samuel D. Rocha
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Belén Hernando-Lloréns

Division C: Learning and Instruction
Graduate Student Research Excellence Award: Hyewon Lee and Hyun Ji Lee
Jan Hawkins Award for Early Career: Jean Ryoo
Outstanding Early Career Scholar Award: Emily R. Fyfe
Sylvia Scribner Award: Andrew Elliot
Outstanding Graduate Student Poster: Ziyun Deng

Division D: Measurement and Research Methodologies
Early Career Award in Multiple and Mixed Methods Research: Marcia Gail Headley
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Zuchao Shen
Robert L. Linn Distinguished Address Award: Neil J. Dorans
Significant Contribution to Educational Measurement and Research Methodology Award: Gregory R. Hancock, Laura M. Stapleton, and Ralph O. Mueller

Division E: Counseling and Human Development
Outstanding Dissertation Award in Human Development: Janna Brown McClain
Outstanding Research Award in Counseling: Dewey G. Cornell, Francis Huang, and Harvey C. Peters
Outstanding Research Award in Human Development: James Huguley and Ming-Te Wang

Division F: History and Historiography
New Scholar’s Book Award: Kabria Baumgartner

Division G: Social Context of Education
Distinguished Dissertation Award: Cierra Presberry
Early Career Award: Limarys Caraballo and Adai Tefera
Henry T. Trueba Award for Research Leading to the Transformation of the Social Contexts of Education: Uma Jayakumar
Mentoring Award: Cinthia Salinas

Division H: Research, Evaluation, and Assessment in Schools
Assessment and Accountability Award: Eric R. Brown, John Q. Easton, Vanessa Gutiérrez, Ebony Hinton, Lauren Sartain, Andria Shyjka, and Andrew Zou
Communicating Research, Accountability, Evaluation, and/or Assessment to Lay Audiences Award: Serena Halstead, Mellisa Smith, and Spencer Ziegler
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Stephanie Schaefer
Program Evaluation Award: Sarah Martinez

Division I: Education in the Professions
Graduate Student Research Award: Min-Seok Choi
Distinguished Career Award: Rebecca S. Lipner
New Investigator Award: Stephanie Meeuwissen
Established Investigator Award: Douglas Grbic
Outstanding Research Publication Award: Nicole Rockich-Winston, Taryn R. Taylor, DeJuan White, and Tasha R. Wyatt

Division J: Postsecondary Education
Exemplary Research Award: Patricia M. McDonough
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Sacha Sharp
Outstanding Publication Award: Xueli Wang

Division K: Teaching and Teacher Education
Early Career Award: Travis J. Bristol
Exemplary Research in Teaching and Teacher Education Award: Cheryl J. Craig
Innovations in Research on Equity & Social Justice in Teacher Education: Rahat Zaidi
Legacy Award: Gloria Boutte and Cheryl J. Craig
Mid-Career Award: Rita Kohli
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Jenni Conrad

Division L: Educational Policy and Politics
Lifetime Achievement Award: Jeannie Oakes and Linda Darling-Hammond
Outstanding Dissertation Award in Educational Policy and Politics: Dana Nickson
Outstanding Policy Report in Educational Policy and Politics Award: Rebecca Davis and Brooks Bowden

Early Career Award in Educational Policy and Politics: Huriya Jabbar
Outstanding Dissertation Award in Educational Policy and Politics: Brendan Bartanen
Outstanding Policy Report in Educational Policy and Politics Award: Desiree Carver-Thomas