Division Awards
Division Awards
Division Awards

View Division awardees below: 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 |  2020 |  2019 |  2018 |  2017 |  2016 |  2015 |  2014 |  2013   

2020 Division Award Winners 

Division A: Administration, Organization, and Leadership
Emerging Scholar Award: Carrie Sampson and Yinying Wang
Excellence in Research Award: Charol Shakeshaft
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Phillip A. Smith

Division B: Curriculum Studies
Ella Baker/Septima Clark Human Rights Award: Erica R. Davila
Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Taubman
Outstanding Book Award: Lisa H.E. Farley

Division C: Learning and Instruction
Graduate Student Research Excellence Award: Carly D. Robinson
Jan Hawkins Award for Early Career: Michelle Hoda Wilkerson
Outstanding Early Career Scholar Award: Rebecca J. Collie
Sylvia Scribner Award: Gale Sinatra

Division D: Measurement and Research Methodologies
Early Career Award in Measurement and Research Methodology: Stephanie Anne Shelton
Outstanding Dissertation Award: David Rousell
Robert L. Linn Distinguished Address Award: Michael Kane
Significant Contribution to Educational Measurement and Research Methodology Award: Sean Reardon, Andrew Ho, Benjamin Shear, Erin Fahle, Demetra Kalogrides, and Robert J. Mislevy

Division E: Counseling and Human Developm ent
Outstanding Dissertation Award in Counseling: Laurie Garo, Ayana Allen-Handy, and Chance W. Lewis
Outstanding Dissertation Award in Human Development: Jing Chen
Outstanding Research Award in Counseling: Rami Benbenishty, Ron Avi Astor, and Iian Roziner
Outstanding Research Award in Human Development: Cheryl L. Somers, Erin E. Centeio, Whitney G. Moore, Alex Garn, Noel Kulik, Jeffrey Martin, Bo Shen, and Nate McCaughtry

Division G: Social Context of Education Distinguished Contributions to Social Contexts in Education Research
Lifetime Achievement Award: Ofelia García
Distinguished Dissertation Award: Phillip A. Smith
Early Career Award: Juan F. Carrillo
Henry T. Trueba Award for Research Leading to the Transformation of the Social Contexts of Education: Angela Valenzuela
Mentoring Award: Luis Urrieta

Division H: Research, Evaluation, and Assessment in Schools
Advances in Methodology Award: Angela K. Henneberger, Yi Feng, Tessa Johnson, Yating Zheng, Bess A. Rose, Laura M. Stapleton, Tracy Sweet, and Michael E. Woolley
Applied Research Award: Daniel H. Bowen and Brian Kisida
Assessment and Accountability Award: Ellen Forte and Andrew Wiley
"Communicating Research, Accountability, Evaluation, and/or Assessment to Lay Audiences Award: Haigen Huang
" Outstanding Dissertation Award: Dana Linnell Wanzer
Program Evaluation Award: Matthew Lenard, Angel Harris, Darryl Hill

Division I: Education in the Professions
New Investigator Award: Ying Yun Juliana Koh
Established Investigator Award: Sandra Kemp
Outstanding Research Publication Award: Georges Bordage and Gordon Page

Division J: Postsecondary Education
Exemplary Research Award: Patricia M. King
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Kayla Elliott
Outstanding Publication Award: Leslie D. Gonzales, Dana Kanhai, and Kayon Hall

Division K: Teaching and Teacher Education
Early Career Award: Gholnecsar Muhammad
Exemplary Research in Teaching and Teacher Education Award: Deborah Bieler
Innovations in Research on Equity & Social Justice in Teacher Education: Rochelle Gutiérrez
Legacy Award: Linda Darling-Hammond
Mid-Career Award: Cheryl E. Matias
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Josephine H. Pham

Division L: Educational Policy and Politics
Early Career Award in Educational Policy and Politics: Huriya Jabbar
Outstanding Dissertation Award in Educational Policy and Politics: Brendan Bartanen
Outstanding Policy Report in Educational Policy and Politics Award: Desiree Carver-Thomas