Division Awards
Division Awards
Division Awards


View Division awardees below: 2022 | 2021 |  2020 |  2019 |  2018 |  2017 |  2016 |  2015 |  2014 |  2013   

2019 Division Award Winners 

Division A: Administration, Organization, and Leadership
Emerging Scholar Award: Yi-Hwa Liou, Jessica Rigby, and Rachel Roegman
Lifetime Achievement Award: Karen Seashore
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Jennifer Nelson

Division B: Curriculum Studies
Ella Baker/Septima Clark Human Rights Award: Steven Salaita
Lifetime Achievement Award: Nancy Lesko and Patrick Slattery
Outstanding Book Award: James P. Burns
Outstanding Dissertation Award: John Wesley Jones

Division C: Learning and Instruction
Graduate Student Research Excellence Award: Lauren Singer Trakhman
Outstanding Early Career Scholar Award: Logan Fiorella
Sylvia Scribner Award: Allan Wigfield

Division D: Measurement and Research Methodologies
Early Career Award in Measurement and Research Methodology: Daniel McNeish
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Xu Qin
Robert L. Linn Distinguished Address Award: Robert Brennan
Significant Contribution to Educational Measurement and Research Methodology Award: David Feldon and Colby Tofel-Grehl

Division E: Counseling and Human Developm ent
Outstanding Dissertation Award in Counseling: Alison Michell Black
Outstanding Dissertation Award in Human Development: Hadass Moore

Division F: History and Historiography
Graduate Student Paper Award: Lauren Lefty
New Scholar’s Book Award: Michelle Purdy

Division G: Social Context of Education
Distinguished Contributions to Social Contexts in Education Research—Lifetime Achievement Award: George W. Noblit
Distinguished Dissertation Award: Laura C. Chávez-Moreno
Early Career Award: Edward A. Brockenbrough
Henry T. Trueba Award for Research Leading to the Transformation of the Social Contexts of Education: Pauline Lipman
Mentoring Award: Rachel Endo, Dorinda J. Carter Andrews

Division H: Research, Evaluation, and Assessment in Schools
Advances in Methodology Award: David Stevens
Applied Research Award: Kathryn Hill and Zitsi Mirakhur
Assessment and Accountability Award: Hongli Li and Yao Xiong
Communicating Research, Accountability, Evaluation, and/or Assessment to Lay Audiences Award: Serena Halstead
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Candice Frontiera
Program Evaluation Award: Paige H. DeBaylo, Shaun D. Hutchins, Karen L. Looby, Dina Bulgakov-Cooke, and Malkeet Singh

Division I: Education in the Professions
New Investigator Award: Ilana Dubovi
Established Investigator Award: Celia L. O’Brien
Distinguished Career Award: David B. Swanson
Outstanding Research Publication Award: Rebecca Lipner, Bradley G. Brossman, Kelli M. Samonte, and Steven J. Durning

Division J: Postsecondary Education
Exemplary Research Award: John S. Levin
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Jason Chan and B. Noble Jones
Outstanding Publication Award: Nolan L. Cabrera

Division K: Teaching and Teacher Education
Early Career Award: Conra Gist
Exemplary Research in Teaching and Teacher Education Award: Marilyn Cochran-Smith, Molly Cummings Carney, Elizabeth Stringer Keefe, Stephani Burton, Wen-Chia Chang, M. Beatriz Fernández, Andrew F. Miller, Juan Gabriel Sánchez, and Megina Baker
Innovations in Research on Equity & Social Justice in Teacher Education: Okhee Lee
Legacy Award: Arnetha Ball and Jo-Ann Archibald
Mid-Career Award: Thomas Philip
Outstanding Dissertation Award: Julia Daniels

Division L: Educational Policy and Politics
Lifetime Achievement Award in Educational Policy and Politics: Henry Levin
Outstanding Dissertation Award in Educational Policy and Politics: Megan Austin
Outstanding Policy Report in Educational Policy and Politics Award: Tammy Kolbe and Kieran Killeen