Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award
Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award


2018 Recipient

Kristen A. Renn
Michigan State University

Dr. Kristen A. Renn is an internationally recognized scholar of higher, adult, and lifelong education, with particular foci on the experiences of LGBTQ students and on women’s higher education. Through her empirical and theoretical research, Dr. Renn has contributed to the field’s understanding on a range of topics related to both gender and sexuality in higher education contexts, including LGBTQ identity development, the role of university faculty in supporting LGBTQ students, heterosexism and micro-aggressions against LGBTQ students, factors supporting the success of LGBTQ university students, and multinational comparisons of women in higher education. In addition to numerous peer-reviewed journal articles, Dr. Renn has authored or edited nine books, including Women’s Colleges and Universities in a Global Context (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2014), which examines the cultural, religious, political, and economic contexts surrounding women’s single-sex and coeducational higher education in 10 countries around the world.





Established in 2006, the Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award recognizes individuals within AERA for distinguished research, professional practice, and activities that advance public understanding of gender and/ or sexuality at any level in the education community. This award will be presented to an individual whose professional career has been devoted in substantial part to the study of gender and/or sexuality in education, and who has significantly advanced the field through extraordinary leadership, scholarship, or professional practice.

Past Recipients  

2017 - Kathryn C. Scantlebury
2016 - James L. Moore III
2015 - Charol Shakeshaft
2013 - Geraldine J. Clifford
2012 - Cynthia B. Dillard
2011 - James Earl Davis
2010 - Valerie Polakow
2009 - Sandra Harding
2008 - Annette Henry
2007 - Aída Hurtado


Call for Award Nominations

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH