AERA Announces 2016 Fellows
AERA Announces 2016 Fellows

For Immediate Release
February 29, 2016

Tony Pals,
(202) 238-3235, (202) 288-9333 (cell)

Victoria Oms,
(202) 238-3233

AERA Announces 2016 Fellows

WASHINGTON, D.C., February 29, 2016 ─ The American Educational Research Association (AERA) has announced the selection of 22 scholars as 2016 AERA Fellows. AERA Fellows are selected on the basis of their notable and sustained research achievements. The 2016 Fellows, listed below, were nominated by their peers, selected by the AERA Fellows Committee, and approved by the AERA Council, the association’s elected governing body. They will be inducted on Saturday, April 9, during the AERA 2016 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. They join 602 current AERA Fellows.

“We are delighted to honor these 22 scholars for their contributions to education research and for their dedication to the field,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “AERA Fellows exemplify the highest standards of excellence through accomplishment, professionalism, and commitment.”

2016 AERA Fellows

  • Jomills Henry Braddock II, University of Miami
  • Jinfa Cai, University of Delaware
  • Mitchell James Chang, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Clark A. Chinn, Rutgers University
  • Donald L. Compton, Florida State University
  • Christian J. Faltis, University of California, Davis
  • Eugene E. García, Arizona State University
  • Judith M. Harackiewicz, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Gary T. Henry, Vanderbilt University, Peabody College
  • Carolyn D. Herrington, Florida State University
  • Heather C. Hill, Harvard University
  • Cindy E. Hmelo-Silver, Indiana University
  • Stafford Hood, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • K. Tsianina Lomawaima, Arizona State University
  • Martha May McCarthy, Loyola Marymount University
  • H. Richard Milner IV, University of Pittsburgh
  • Darcia F. Narvaez, University of Notre Dame
  • Na'ilah Suad Nasir, University of California, Berkeley
  • Gerard A. Postiglione, University of Hong Kong
  • Edward A. Silver, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Maisha T. Winn, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Rebecca Zwick, ETS

About AERA
The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the largest national interdisciplinary research association devoted to the scientific study of education and learning. Founded in 1916, AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good. Find AERA on Facebook and Twitter.


Share This