Neild Steps Down at IES, Brock Named New Interim Director
Neild Steps Down at IES, Brock Named New Interim Director

January 2017

Ruth Curran Neild left her position as the delegated director of the Institute of Education Sciences on January 13. Neild had served in this role since 2014, after the departure of John Easton. Neild is currently the director of the Philadelphia Education Research Consortium.

Before stepping down, then Education Secretary John King appointed Tom Brock, the Commissioner of the National Center for Education Research (NCER), to serve as delegated director for IES. Brock will continue to serve as the NCER commissioner while also carrying out the duties of the IES director.  It is expected that President Donald Trump will appoint a director for IES that would require Senate confirmation.

Obama Appoints Members to NBES

Prior to leaving office, Barack Obama appointed seven members to the National Board for Education Sciences (NBES), which advises IES. On December 7, Obama announced his appointment of Jason Glass, Superintendent of the Eagle County School District in Colorado, and Susanna Loeb, Barnett Family Professor of Education at Stanford University. Loeb will be serving her second term as a member of NBES. Earlier in January, Obama appointed the following members of NBES:

  • Barbara Jenkins, Superintendent for Orange County Public Schools (Fla.);
  • Tarajean Yazzie-Mintz, Co-Director of the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs and Senior Program Officer of Tribal College and Universities (TCUs) Early Childhood Education Initiatives at the American Indian College Fund;
  • Daniel Willingham, Professor at the University of Virginia;
  • Carrie Conaway, Associate Commissioner of the Office of Planning and Research for the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; and
  • David Francis, Director of the Texas Institute for Measurement, Evaluation, and Statistics as well as the Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Chair of Quantitative Methods at the University of Houston.
Share This