Call for 2014 Brown Lecture Speaker Nominations
Call for 2014 Brown Lecture Speaker Nominations
Call for 2014 Brown Lecture Speaker Nominations – Deadline: January 31

Call for Nominations
Eleventh Annual Brown Lecture in Education Research
American Educational Research Association
Deadline: January 31, 2014

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) seeks nominations for the Eleventh Annual Brown Lecture in Education Research. This public Lecture features important research that advances understanding of issues related to equality and equity in education. The Lectureship was inaugurated in 2004 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Brown v. Board of Education decision, in which the U.S. Supreme Court took scientific research into account in issuing its landmark ruling. The Lecture will be delivered in October 2014 by a distinguished scholar notable for producing significant research or lines of research related to equality in education. The lecturer receives a $1,000 honorarium and travel expenses to Washington, D.C.

Members of the education research community are encouraged to submit nominations. All nominations must include the following:

  • A brief curriculum vitae/resume highlighting scholarship and research relevant to the Lectureship (no longer than two-pages).
  • A one-page statement on the nominee, the nominee’s research, and how the nominee’s research meets the objectives and purposes of the Lectureship.

Nominations can be submitted by e-mail to

The Brown Lecture Selection Committee is comprised of the AERA President, President-Elect, Chair of the Social Justice Action Committee (SJAC), Executive Director, Director of Social Justice, and two additional SJAC members. The chair of SJAC chairs the selection process.

Past Brown Lecturers

  • Edmund W. Gordon, Teachers College, Columbia University (2004)
  • Claude M. Steele, Stanford University (2005)
  • Linda Darling-Hammond, Stanford University (2006)
  • Margaret Beale Spencer, University of Chicago (2007)
  • Stephen W. Raudenbush, University of Chicago (2008)
  • Luis C. Moll, University of Arizona (2009)
  • Kenji Hakuta, Stanford University (2010)
  • Gloria J. Ladson-Billings, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2011)
  • Vanessa Siddle Walker, Emory University (2012)
  • Gary Orfield, University of California, Los Angeles (2013)
Share This