Jeannie Oakes Voted AERA President-Elect; Other Key Members Elected to AERA Council
Jeannie Oakes Voted AERA President-Elect; Other Key Members Elected to AERA Council

For Immediate Release
March 14, 2014

Tony Pals,
office: (202) 238-3235
cell: (202) 288-9333
Bridget Jameson,
office: (202) 238-3233 

Jeannie Oakes Voted AERA President-Elect;
Other Key Members Elected to AERA Council

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 14, 2015—Jeannie Oakes, director of the Ford Foundation’s programs in Educational Equity and Scholarship, has been voted president-elect of the American Educational Research Association (AERA). Her term as president begins at the conclusion of AERA’s 2015 Annual Meeting. She will serve as president during AERA’s centennial year, following one year of service as president-elect. 

Oakes is also Presidential Professor Emeritus in Educational Equity at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), where she founded the Institute for Democracy, Education, and Access; UC’s All Campus Consortium on Research for Diversity; and Center X’s urban teacher education program. 

Oakes’s scholarship examines the effect of social policies on the education of low-income students of color and investigates equity-minded reform. Her Keeping Track: How Schools Structure Inequality was named one of the 20th century’s “most influential” education books, and Becoming Good American Schools: The Struggle for Civic Virtue in Education Reform won AERA’s Outstanding Book Award. 

She also holds AERA’s Early Career, Palmer O. Johnson Memorial, and Social Justice in Education Research Awards, and has given five distinguished AERA lectures. Oakes is a Fellow of AERA. Her previous AERA service includes Council member-at-large; Early Career Award and Professional Development Committee chairs; and other committee and editorial board memberships. 

Oakes’s  other honors include the California Educational Research Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award, the American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education’s Margaret Lindsey Research Award, the National Association for Multicultural Education’s Multicultural Research Award, the Educational Press Association’s Distinguished Achievement Award, and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference’s Public Service Award. She is a member of the National Academy of Education. Oakes has a Ph.D. in education from UCLA. 

She will succeed Joyce E. King, the Benjamin E. Mays Endowed Chair of Urban Teaching, Learning and Leadership at Georgia State University. King will assume the AERA presidency on April 8, 2014, after the close of the association’s 2014 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia. 

Council Members-at-Large
Two other prominent scholars were elected to member-at-large positions on the AERA Council, commencing in 2014–2015. They will serve three-year terms. 

  • Megan Loef Franke, Professor of Education, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Jabari Mahiri, William and Mary Jane Brinton Endowed Chair in Urban Teaching and Professor of Education, University of California, Berkeley

Franke will also serve on the AERA Executive Board. 

Division Vice Presidents-Elect
Four education researchers were voted as division vice presidents-elect, and will join AERA’s 2015–2016 Council at the conclusion of the 2015 Annual Meeting. They will serve three-year terms.

  • Division A: Administration, Organization, & Leadership
    Michael E. Dantley, Dean of the School of Education, Loyola University Chicago
  • Division C: Learning and Instruction
    Barbara A. Greene, Brian E. and Sandra O’Brien Presidential Professor of Educational Psychology, University of Oklahoma
  • Division D: Measurement and Research Methodology
    Kadriye Ercikan, Professor of Measurement, Evaluation and Research Methodology, University of British Columbia
  • Division I: Education in the Professions
    Danette Waller McKinley, Director, Research and Data Resources, Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research

Graduate Student Council
Gabriel “Joey” Merrin, a doctoral student in child development at the University of Illinois, was voted chair-elect of the Graduate Student Council (GSC), and will join the AERA Council in 2015-2016 as the GSC representative. 

Complete 2014 AERA election results will be announced in the March issue of AERA Highlights. 

About AERA

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the largest national professional organization devoted to the scientific study of education. Founded in 1916, AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good. Find AERA on Facebook and Twitter.


Share This