Deborah Loewenberg Ball Voted AERA President-Elect
Deborah Loewenberg Ball Voted AERA President-Elect

For Immediate Release
March 28, 2016

Tony Pals,
(202) 238-3235, (202) 288-9333 (cell)

Victoria Oms,
(202) 238-3233

Deborah Loewenberg Ball Voted AERA President-Elect

Washington, D.C., March 28, 2016 – Deborah Loewenberg Ball, the William H. Payne Collegiate Professor in education and an Arthur F. Thurnau professor at the University of Michigan, has been voted president-elect of the American Educational Research Association (AERA). Her term as president begins on May 1, 2017, at the conclusion of AERA’s 2017 Annual Meeting.

Ball will be concluding 11 years as dean of the School of Education this summer and is the founding director of TeachingWorks. She taught elementary school for more than 15 years, and teaches mathematics to fifth-grade students every summer. Ball studies the practice of teaching, focusing on the everyday work and its demands. She seeks to learn how to support systematically the development of skillful teaching in ways that serve young people equitably.

Her research has been recognized with several awards and honors, and she has served on multiple national and international commissions and panels. Ball is a Fellow of AERA and of the American Mathematical Society. She has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Education. She serves on the National Science Board and the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute Board of Trustees, and chairs the Spencer Foundation Board of Directors.

She will succeed Vivian L. Gadsden, William T. Carter Professor of Child Development and Education at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education. Gadsden will assume the AERA presidency on April 12, 2016, after the close of the association’s 2016 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Council Members-at-Large
Two other prominent scholars were elected to member-at-large positions on the AERA Council, commencing in 2016–2017. They will serve three-year terms.

  • Tyrone C. Howard, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Michele S. Moses, University of Colorado, Boulder

Moses will also serve on the AERA Executive Board.

Division Vice Presidents-Elect
Four education researchers were voted as division vice presidents-elect and will join AERA’s 2017–2018 Council at the conclusion of the 2017 Annual Meeting. They will serve three-year terms.

  • Division B: Curriculum Studies
    Denise Taliaferro Baszile, Miami University

  • Division F: History and Historiography
    Christopher M. Span, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • Division G: Social Context of Education
    Zeus Leonardo, University of California, Berkeley

  • Division H: Research, Evaluation, and Assessment in Schools
    Vickie Cartwright, Orange County Public Schools

Graduate Student Council
Keisha L. Siriboe, a doctoral student at the University of Hong Kong, was voted chair-elect of the Graduate Student Council (GSC) and will join the AERA Council in 2017-2018 as the GSC representative.

Complete 2016 AERA election results will be announced in the March issue of AERA Highlights.


Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH