AERA Announces 2017 Award Winners in Education Research
AERA Announces 2017 Award Winners in Education Research

Tony Pals,
(202) 238-3235, (202) 288-9333 (cell)

Victoria Oms,
(202) 238-3233

AERA Announces 2017 Award Winners in Education Research

WASHINGTON, D.C., April 19 – The American Educational Research Association (AERA) announced the winners of its 2017 awards for excellence in education research. AERA will honor the recipients for their outstanding scholarship and service at the fifth annual Awards Luncheon, April 29, at the AERA Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

“This year’s award winners exemplify commitment to the study and practice of education,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “We are proud to honor their outstanding scholarship and service to the field.”

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award
Recipient: Henry M. Levin (Teachers College, Columbia University)
The Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award is the premier acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and success in education research. It is designed to publicize, motivate, encourage, and suggest models for education research at its best.

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award
Recipient: KatharineM. Broton (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Sara Goldrick-Rab (Temple University), James Benson (Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education)
“Working for College: The Causal Impacts of Financial Grants on Undergraduate Employment.” Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis, Volume 38, No. 3, September 2016.
This award is in recognition of the lifelong achievement of Palmer O. Johnson as a dedicated educator, and further in recognition of his pioneer work in educational research and methodology. The award is given for an outstanding article appearing in an AERA-sponsored publication.

E. F. Lindquist Award

Recipient: Hua-Hua Chang (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
This award is presented jointly by AERA and ACT in recognition of outstanding applied or theoretical research in the field of testing and measurement. The award is meant to acknowledge a body of research of an empirical, theoretical, or integrative nature rather than a single study.

Early Career Award

Recipient: Morgan Polikoff (University of Southern California)
Established to honor an individual in the early stages of his or her career no later than 10 years after receipt of the doctoral degree, this award is granted for study in any field of educational inquiry.

Outstanding Book Award

Recipient: Roberto G. Gonzales (Harvard University)
Lives in Limbo: Undocumented and Coming of Age in America
The Outstanding Book Award was established to acknowledge and honor the year’s best book-length publication in education research and development.

Social Justice in Education Award

Recipient: Estela M. Bensimon (University of Southern California)
Established in 2004, the Social Justice in Education Award honors an individual who has advanced social justice through education research and exemplified the goal of linking education research to social justice.

Distinguished Public Service Award

Recipient: Michael W. Kirst (Stanford University)
This award is granted annually in recognition of an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies that are well grounded in education research, or who has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research.

Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award
Recipient: Kathryn C. Scantlebury (University of Delaware)
Established in 2006, the Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award recognizes individuals within AERA for distinguished research, professional practice, and activities that advance public understanding of gender and/or sexuality at any level in the education community.

Excellence in Media Reporting on Education Research
Recipient: Emily Hanford (APM Reports, American Public Media)
Newly established in 2016, this award recognizes a person who has made noteworthy contributions to reporting on findings, bodies of research, or scholarship in the field of education research in any medium of public communication. The award honors a media professional whose work exemplifies promoting a broader vision of the value of education research to society.

Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research
Recipient: Ann M. Ishimaru (University of Washington)
This award is presented to an education research scholar or scholars in recognition of collaborative project(s) between researchers and practitioners that have had sustained and observable effects on contexts of practice.

Outstanding Public Communication of Education Research
Recipient: Kevin G. Welner (University of Colorado)
This award honors scholars exemplary in their capacity to communicate the importance of education research to the broad public, including education communities. It recognizes a scholar who has excelled in conveying important findings and research to wide audiences and who has demonstrated the capacity to deepen understanding and appreciation of the value of education research in the public sphere.

Review of Research Award
Recipient: Alfredo J. Artiles (Arizona State University), Sherman Dorn (Arizona State University), Aydin Bal (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
"Objects of Protection, Enduring Nodes of Difference: Disability Intersections With 'Other' Differences, 1916-2016." Review of Research in Education, Vol 40, March 2016.
This award is given in recognition of an outstanding review of research article appearing in the Review of Research in Education and the Review of Educational Research.

Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards
The AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education awards are intended to recognize (a) scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues that disproportionately affect minority populations, and (b) minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to education research and development.

  • Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award
    Recipient: Antonia Darder (Loyola Marymount University)
    Presented to a senior-level scholar, usually 20 years or more after his or her receipt of a doctoral degree.
  • Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award
    Recipient: James L. Moore III (The Ohio State University)
    Presented to a scholar in midcareer who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom 10 or more years have passed since receipt of the doctoral degree.
  • Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award
    Recipient: María C. Ledesma (University of Utah)
    Presented to a scholar who is within the first decade of his or her career after receipt of a doctoral degree.

About AERA
The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the largest national interdisciplinary research association devoted to the scientific study of education and learning. Founded in 1916, AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good. Find AERA on Facebook and Twitter.