AERA Announces 2015 Award Winners in Education Research
AERA Announces 2015 Award Winners in Education Research

For Immediate Release:
March 10, 2015

Tony Pals,
office: (202) 238-3235
cell: (202) 288-9333
Bridget Jameson,
office: (202) 238-3233 

AERA Announces 2015 Award Winners in Education Research

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 10, 2015—The American Educational Research Association (AERA) today announced the winners of eleven of its twelve 2015 awards for excellence in education research. AERA will honor the recipients for their outstanding scholarship and service at an awards ceremony on April 18, at the AERA Annual Meeting in Chicago. One additional AERA award will be announced in mid-March. 

“This year’s award winners are exemplars to AERA’s 25,000 members and to all who are committed to the study and practice of education,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “We are proud to honor their outstanding commitment, accomplishments, and service to the field.”

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award
Recipient: Andrew Porter (University of Pennsylvania) 

The Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award is the premier acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and success in education research. It is designed to publicize, motivate, encourage, and suggest models for education research at its best. 

Review of Research Award
Recipient: Jeanne M. Powers (Arizona State University)

"From Segregation to School Finance: The Legal Context for Language Rights in the United States" (PDF). Review of Research in Education, 2014, 38(1), 81–105 

The Review of Research Award recognizes an outstanding review of research article published in one of the following AERA publications: Review of Educational Research or Review of Research in Education. 

E. F. Lindquist Award
Recipient: Howard Wainer (National Board of Medical Examiners) 

This award is presented jointly by AERA and ACT in recognition of outstanding applied or theoretical research in the field of testing and measurement. The award is meant to acknowledge a body of research of an empirical, theoretical, or integrative nature rather than a single study. 

Early Career Award
Recipient: Brendesha Tynes (University of Southern California) 

Established to honor an individual in the early stages of his or her career no later than 10 years after receipt of the doctoral degree, this award can be granted for study in any field of educational inquiry. 

Outstanding Book Award
Recipient: David P. Baker (Pennsylvania State University)

The Schooled Society: The Educational Transformation of Global Culture, Stanford University Press, 2014 

The Outstanding Book Award was established to acknowledge and honor the year’s best book-length publication in education research and development. 

Social Justice in Education Award
Recipient: Gloria Ladson-Billings (University of Wisconsin–Madison) 

Established in 2004, the Social Justice in Education Award honors an individual who has advanced social justice through education research and exemplified the goal of linking education research to social justice. 

Distinguished Public Service Award
Recipient: Joseph Conaty (U.S. Department of Education) 

This award is granted annually in recognition of an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies that are well grounded in education research, or who has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research. 

Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards 

The AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education awards are intended to recognize (a) scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues that disproportionately affect minority populations, and (b) minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to education research and development. 

Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award
Recipient: Patricia Gandara (University of California–Los Angeles) 

Presented to a senior-level scholar, usually 20 years or more after his or her receipt of the doctoral degree. 

Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award
Recipient: Kevin K. Kumashiro (University of San Francisco) 

Presented to a scholar in midcareer who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom 10 or more years have passed since receipt of the doctoral degree. 

Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award
Recipient: Ebony O. McGee (Vanderbilt University) 

Presented to a scholar who is within the first decade of his or her career after receipt of the doctoral degree. 

Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award
Recipient: Charol Shakeshaft (Virginia Commonwealth University) 

Established in 2006, the Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award recognizes individuals within AERA for distinguished research, professional practice, and activities that advance public understanding of gender and/or sexuality at any level in the education community.

About AERA
The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the largest national professional organization devoted to the scientific study of education. Founded in 1916, AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good. Find AERA on Facebook and Twitter.


Share This
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH