AERA Announces 2014 Award Winners in Education Research
AERA Announces 2014 Award Winners in Education Research
For Immediate Release
March 24, 2014
Tony Pals,
office: (202) 238-3235
cell: (202) 288-9333
Bridget Jameson,
office: (202) 238-3233  

AERA Announces 2014 Award Winners in Education Research

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 24, 2014—The American Educational Research Association (AERA) today announced the winners of its 2014 awards for excellence in education research. AERA will honor the recipients for their outstanding scholarship and service at an awards ceremony on April 5 at the AERA Annual Meeting in Philadelphia.

“We are proud to honor the outstanding commitment and accomplishments of this year’s award winners,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “Through their scholarship and service to the field, they stand as exemplars to AERA’s 25,000 members and to all who are committed to the study and practice of education in the United States and elsewhere.”  

AERA announced 16 award winners in 11 association-wide categories.

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award

Doug Fuchs (Vanderbilt University)
Lynn Fuchs (Vanderbilt University) 
Adam Gamoran (William T. Grant Foundation)

The Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education award is the premier acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and success in education research. It is designed to publicize, motivate, encourage, and suggest models for education research at its best.

Lynn and Doug Fuchs

Adam Gamoran

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award

Liliana M. Garces (The Pennsylvania State University - University Park)

"Understanding the Impact of Affirmative Action Bans in Different Graduate Fields of Study" (PDF)
American Educational Research Journal
April 2013, 50 (2), 251–284

The Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award is presented annually to recognize the highest quality of academic scholarship published in one of the following AERA publications: American Educational Research JournalEducational Evaluation and Policy AnalysisEducational Researcher, or Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics.

Liliana M. Garces


Review of Research Award

Hal Lawson (University at Albany - SUNY)
Michael Lawson (Binghamton University) 

"New Conceptual Frameworks for Student Engagement Research, Policy, and Practice" (PDF)
Review of Educational Research
2013, 83(3), 432-479
The Review of Research Award recognizes an outstanding review of research article published in one of the following AERA publications: Review of Educational Research or Review of Research in Education.

                Hal Lawson

           Michael Lawson


Relating Research to Practice Award: Interpretive Scholarship

Shaun Harper (University of Pennsylvania)

The Relating Research to Practice Award is granted for excellence in the category of interpretive scholarship. It was established to recognize outstanding contributions that individuals have made toward increasing the understanding and proliferation of links between education research and enhanced education practice.

Shaun Harper


E. F. Lindquist Award
Mark Reckase (Michigan State University)
This award is presented jointly by AERA and ACT in recognition of outstanding applied or theoretical research in the field of testing and measurement. The award is meant to acknowledge a body of research of an empirical, theoretical, or integrative nature rather than a single study.

Mark Reckase


Early Career Award
Sara Goldrick-Rab (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
Mary Helen Immordino-Yang (University of Southern California)
Established to honor an individual in the early stages of his or her career no later than 10 years after receipt of the doctoral degree, this award can be granted for study in any field of educational inquiry.

    Sara Goldrick-Rab

Mary Immordino-Yang


Outstanding Book Award
David Kirp (University of California - Berkeley)
The Outstanding Book Award was established to acknowledge and honor the year’s best book-length publication in education research and development.

David Kirp


Social Justice in Education Award
Michael A. Olivas (University of Houston Law Center)
Established in 2004, the Social Justice in Education Award honors an individual who has advanced social justice through education research and exemplified the goal of linking education research to social justice.

Michael A. Olivas


Distinguished Public Service Award
Ruby Takanishi (New America Foundation)
This award is granted annually in recognition of an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies that are well grounded in education research, or who has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research.

Ruby Takanishi


Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards

The AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education awards are intended to recognize (a) scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues that disproportionately affect minority populations, and (b) minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to education research and development.

Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award
Janelle Scott (University of California - Berkeley)

Presented to a scholar in midcareer who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom 10 or more years have passed since receipt of the doctoral degree.

Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award
Dorinda Carter Andrews (Michigan State University)
Eve Tuck (SUNY - College at New Paltz) 

Presented to a scholar who is within the first decade of his or her career after receipt of the doctoral degree.

Janelle Scott 

Dorinda Andrews

Eve Tuck

About AERA

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the largest national professional organization devoted to the scientific study of education. Founded in 1916, AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good. Find AERA on Facebook and Twitter.


Share This