NAGB Seeks Nominations for Four Positions, Names Six Other Appointees
NAGB Seeks Nominations for Four Positions, Names Six Other Appointees

September 2016

The U.S. Department of Education is seeking qualified candidates for four positions on its National Assessment Governing Board. The Governing Board sets policy for the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), also known as The Nation’s Report Card. The open positions are as follows:

  • Testing and measurement expert
  • Elementary school principal
  • General public representative (2 positions)

The Governing Board plays a critical role in shaping how the U.S. measures student achievement. New members will work at the forefront of innovation in educational assessment, leading efforts to educate the public about NAEP and relevant assessment trends, and to assess college preparedness.

The deadline to nominate/apply for these positions is October 28, 2016. For more information on the nomination/application process, click here.

In addition, U.S. Secretary of Education John B. King, Jr. announced on September 23 that six education leaders from around the country have been appointed to the Governing Board (NAGB) to serve four-year terms. Four leaders were reappointed along with two new state legislators, whose terms begin October 1, 2016, and end September 30, 2020.

The six appointments, two of whom (Andrew Ho and Terry Mazany) are current AERA members, include:

  • Rebecca Gagnon (Minneapolis—local school board member): Gagnon serves as treasurer on the Minneapolis Public Schools Board of Education and joined the Governing Board in 2012.

  • Andrew Ho (Boston—testing and measurement expert): Ho joined the Governing Board in 2012 and is a professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, where he conducts psychometric research on accountability metrics and teaches courses involving educational measurement and statistics.

  • Terry Mazany (Chicago—general public representative): Selected as chair of the Governing Board in 2014 and serving as a member since 2012, Mazany is the president and CEO of The Chicago Community Trust.

  • Jeanette Nuñez (Miami—Republican state legislator): Nuñez has served as Florida’s state representative for District 119 since 2012, and represented District 112 from 2010 to 2012.

  • Joseph O’Keefe (New York City—nonpublic school administrator or policymaker): O’Keefe, a Jesuit priest and visiting professor at Fordham University, has been a leader in the Catholic education community and a scholar of faith-related schools in the U.S. and abroad, with several faculty appointments. He has been a Governing Board member since 2012.

  • Alice Peisch (Wellesley, Massachusetts—Democratic state legislator): Peisch serves as the state representative for Massachusetts’ 14th Norfolk District and as the Joint Committee on Education’s House chair, a post she has held since 2011. 
Share This
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH