AERA Holds Virtual Awards Celebration on October 3—Register Now
AERA Holds Virtual Awards Celebration on October 3—Register Now

September  2020

AERA is holding a Virtual Awards Celebration on October 3 from 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. EDT. This event aims to honor recipients of the 2020 AERA-wide awards and give attendees an inside look at those with exemplary accomplishments across domains and career stages. Drawing upon multi-media technology, this celebration will include a special tribute to members of the research community who died this year. Co-hosts AERA President Shaun R. Harper and AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine will use virtual capacities to engage in live “backstage” conversations with award winners.

The Awards Celebration will also feature a special presentation by 2019–2020 AERA President Vanessa Siddle Walker. She will issue presidential citations to Jacqueline Jordan Irvine (Emory University) and James D. Anderson (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign).

AERA is particularly pleased to confer the Distinguished Public Service Award this year to Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) for her staunch, innovative, and bipartisan commitment to scientific research across all fields of science; her special interest in the value of education research to advance opportunities for women and persons of color in the STEM workforce; and her deep appreciation that data and studies are essential to ensuring supportive and inclusive climates in educational and research environments. 

The 2020 research awardees are highly accomplished doing the important work that merits recognition and celebration. In addition to Rep. Johnson, these include:

  • Howard Gardner (Harvard University) – Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award
  • Randy E. Bennett (ETS) – E. F. Lindquist Award
  • David Stovall­ (University of Illinois at Chicago) – Social Justice in Education Award
  • Carolyn J. Heinrich (Vanderbilt University), Jennifer Darling-Aduana (Vanderbilt University), Annalee G. Good (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Huiping (Emily) Cheng (University of Wisconsin, Madison) – Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award
  • Lindsay C. Page (University of Pittsburgh) – Early Career Award
  • Leilani Sabzalian (University of Oregon) – Outstanding Book Award
  • Jessica Ringrose (University College, London) – Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award
  • Maria R. Coady (University of Florida) – Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award
  • Francis A. Pearman II (Stanford University) – Review of Research Award
  • María Estela Brisk (Boston College) – Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award
  • Adrienne D. Dixson (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign) – Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award
  • Jessica C. Harris  (University of California, Los Angeles) – Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award

Please click here to register to attend the AERA Virtual Awards Celebration. The event is free and open to a wide audience of members and those committed to research or engaged in the education research enterprise. Registrants will receive a confirmation email with details for logging in to the Zoom event. ASL and captioning will be provided. 

AERA is currently accepting nominations for the 2021 AERA Awards. The call for nominations is available online.

Howard Gardner, recipient of the Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award.

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson, recipient of the Distinguished Public Service Award. David Stovall, recipient of the Social Justice in Education Award. Lindsay Page, recipient of the Early Career Award.
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH