President-Elect Janelle Scott Calls for Committee Nominations
President-Elect Janelle Scott Calls for Committee Nominations

October 2023

Dear AERA Members,

Professional service is vital to support the ongoing work of our association. As President-Elect, I am pleased to invite you to submit nominations to serve on AERA’s committees—either for yourself or colleagues. As members of the largest association for education research and scholarship in the world, we welcome active participation from members across the disciplinary, methodological, demographic, and career diversities of our field. 

I look forward to making appointments to AERA committees in the coming months and value your input. Please share your recommendations by Thursday, November 30. For each nominee (including self-nominations), please send the name of the nominee, the committee on which the individual brings relevant background to serve, and a one-page biographical vitae to

Appointments will be made for the following standing and award committees, for terms to commence in 2024:

Standing Committees

  • Annual Meeting Policies and Procedures Committee
  • Books Editorial Board
  • Committee on Scholars and Advocates for Gender Equity in Education
  • Ethics Committee
  • Fellows Committee
  • Government Relations Committee
  • International Relations Committee
  • Journal Publications Committee
  • Minority Fellowship Selection Committee
  • Nominating Committee
  • Professional Development and Training Committee
  • Research Advisory Committee
  • Scholars of Color in Education Committee
  • Social Justice Action Committee

Award Committees

  • Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award Committee
  • Early Career Award Committee
  • E. F. Lindquist Award Committee
  • Excellence in Media Reporting on Education Research Award Committee
  • Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award Committee
  • Outstanding Book Award Committee
  • Outstanding Public Communication of Education Research Award Committee
  • Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award Committee
  • Review of Research Award Committee

Janelle T. Scott
AERA President-Elect