AERA Nominating Committees Announce 2014 Slates for Offices
AERA Nominating Committees Announce 2014 Slates for Offices
AERA Nominating Committees Announce 2014 Slates for Offices
October 2013

2014 Reports From AERA and Division

Nominating Committees


This is the official announcement of reports from the 2014 AERA and Division Nominating Committees, developed in accordance with Article VII, Section 2, of the Association Bylaws. Additional nominations for the office of AERA President-Elect and Member-at-Large may be submitted to the Executive Director by written request of five percent (5%) or more of the voting members of the Association. Additional nominations for a division office may also be submitted to the Executive Director by written request of five percent (5%) or more of the voting members of that division. All such nominations must be received by the Executive Director by December 1, 2013.


A biographical statement for each candidate will be published in the December 2013 issue of AERA Highlights and posted on the AERA website.


See below for Election Regulations – Candidate Campaigning Policy.


E-mail notification of electronic balloting will be sent to all voting AERA members in January 2014. AERA voting members who wish to receive their customized ballot in print form by postal mail should contact the AERA Central Office by e-mail at; by postal mail at American Educational Research Association, Attn: Governance, 1430 K Street, NW, Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005; or by phone at (202) 238-3200.

AERA Nominating Committee: Catherine Snow (Chair), Greg Duncan, Pamela L. Grossman, Adam Gamoran, Cynthia Hudley

Nominees for Office of President-Elect: Susan Fuhrman, Teachers College, Columbia University; Jane Hannaway, American Institutes for Research; Jeannie Oakes, Ford Foundation

Nominees for Office of
Member-at-Large (3-year term; two candidates to be elected): Maria S. Carlo, University of Miami; Megan L. Franke, University of California, Los Angeles; Kofi Lomotey, Western Carolina University; Jabari Mahiri, University of California, Berkeley

Division A:  Administration, Organization, and Leadership: Nominating Committee: Pamela Tucker (Chair), Preston Green, Kathryn Bell McKenzie

Nominees for Office of Vice President: Michael E. Dantley, Loyola University Chicago; Cynthia L. Uline, San Diego State University

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Michael Patrick O’Malley, Texas State University; Terah T. Venzant Chambers, Michigan State University

Division C:  Learning and Instruction: Nominating Committee: Gale M. Sinatra (Chair), Patricia A. Alexander, Richard E. Mayer, Margaret G. McKeown

Nominees for Office of Vice President:
Final nominations pending

Division D:  Measurement and Research Methodology: Nominating Committee: Barbara Dodd (Chair), Michael  Kolen, Suzanne Lane, Nancy Petersen, Mark Reckase

Nominees for Office of Vice-President: Kadriye Ercikan, University of British Columbia; Steve Ferrara, Pearson Assessment and Information

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Won-Chan Lee, University of Iowa; Phoebe C. Winter, Pacific Metrics Corporation

Division E:  Counseling and Human Development: Nominating Committee: Dorothy Espelage (Chair), Cynthia Hudley, Jody Newman

Nominees for Office of Secretary: April Taylor, California State University, Northridge; Tanner LeBaron Wallace, University of Pittsburgh

Division I:   Education in the Professions:
Nominating Committee: Dorthea Juul (Chair), Ilene Harris, Francine Hekelman, Ara Tekian

Nominees for Office of Vice President: Danette W. McKinley, Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research; Hugh A. Stoddard, Emory University

Division J:   Postsecondary Education: Nominating Committee: Laura W. Perna (Chair), Sharon L. Fries-Britt, Jacob P. K. Gross, Karen K. Inkelas, Maricela Oliva

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Michelle M. Espino, University of Maryland; Tonya N. Saddler, Marywood University

Division K: Teaching and Teacher Education: Nominating Committee: Nina Asher (Chair), Suzanne Choo, Stephanie Renee Jones, Michelle Georgia Knight, Marvin Lynn, Mark Vagle, Kara Mitchell Viesca

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Dorinda Carter Andrews, Michigan State University; Ee-Ling Low, National Institute of Education

Division L: Educational Policy and Politics:
Nominating Committee: Peter Youngs (Chair), Marisa Cannata, Janelle Scott, Sheneka Williams

Nominees for Office of Secretary: Sonya Douglass Horsford, George Mason University; M. Najeeb Shafiq, University of Pittsburgh; Tina M. Trujillo, University of California, Berkley



Election Regulations – Candidate Campaigning Policy

 (Approved by AERA Council, April 2011)


The following sets forth the campaigning policy to guide candidates and the American Educational Research Association through the election process.


  • The biographical sketch accompanying each ballot shall be the primary mechanism for a candidate to provide the AERA voting membership with information regarding his/her qualifications. Biographical sketches (with or without personal statements) of candidates are limited to 350 words for officers who also serve on the AERA Council by virtue of their roles and 200 words for all other candidates.
  • AERA discourages campaigning by candidates and their supporters. Nothing in this policy precludes campaigning as long as campaigning does not include, directly or indirectly, using any of the means of communication with members made available through the Association and does not involve the material expenditure of funds by candidates or their supporters. Candidates are encouraged to seek guidance from the Executive Director or her or his designee in areas of uncertainty.
  • Candidates who have access to AERA information or the tools and technology of the Association may not use them to campaign (e.g., a division vice president or SIG chair who is a candidate for another AERA position urging constituents to vote).
  • Any violation of these regulations shall be reported immediately to the Executive Director. If the allegations are substantiated to the satisfaction of the Executive Director, then the matter shall be referred to the AERA Ethics Committee for consideration in accord with the procedures of that committee. A finding of fault can lead to disciplinary action.
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH