Edmund Gordon to Offer Special Remarks at AERA Awards Celebration, December 7
Edmund Gordon to Offer Special Remarks at AERA Awards Celebration, December 7

November 2021

AERA Honorary President Edmund W. Gordon will be providing reflections about the importance of the education research endeavor and honoring exemplary lives of scholarship to kick off the AERA Awards Celebration on December 7, 6:00 to 7:30 p.m. ET. Among those being recognized are Congressman Robert “Bobby” Scott, Nikole Hannah-Jones, and Carol D. Lee. Registration for this virtual event is free and open to the public.

This interactive, dynamic multimedia event will honor recipients of the 2021 AERA-wide awards and give attendees an inside look at those with exemplary accomplishments across areas of study and career stages. The celebration will include a special tribute to members of the research community who died this year. AERA President Na’ilah Suad Nasir and AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine will co-host the event.

“There is no one better qualified to introduce this celebration of excellence in education research than Dr. Gordon,” said Levine. “We are thrilled to have the opportunity to hear his insights and words of wisdom. We encourage all who care about supporting and advancing high-quality education research to join us for this joyful event.”

The 2021 research awardees are highly accomplished and undertaking work that merits recognition and celebration.

  • Carol D. Lee (Northwestern University) – Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award
  • Congressman Robert “Bobby” Scott (Virginia) – Distinguished Public Service Award
  • Nikole Hannah-Jones (Howard University) – Excellence in Media Reporting on Education Research Award
  • Julie A. Edmunds (University of North Carolina, Greensboro), Fatih Unlu (RAND Corporation), Jane L. Furey (University of Michigan), Elizabeth J. Glennie (RTI International), Nina Arshavsky (University of North Carolina, Greensboro) – Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award
  • Adam Alvarez (Rowan University) – Review of Research Award
  • Kabria Baumgartner (Northeastern University) – Outstanding Book Award
  • Henry Braun (Boston College) – E. F. Lindquist Award
  • Huriya Jabbar (University of Texas at Austin) – Early Career Award
  • Sharon Fries-Britt (University of Maryland, College Park) – Social Justice in Education Award
  • Elizabeth Meyer (University of Colorado, Boulder) – Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award
  • Okhee Lee (New York University) – Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award
  • Daniel Willingham (University of Virginia) – Outstanding Public Communication of Education Research Award
  • Zeus Leonardo (University of California, Berkeley) – Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award
  • Megan Bang (Spencer Foundation, Northwestern University) – Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award
  • Bianca Baldridge (Harvard University) – Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award

Registrants will receive a confirmation email with details for logging in to the Zoom event. ASL and live closed captioning will be provided.