AERA Announces 2016 Award Winners in Education Research
AERA Announces 2016 Award Winners in Education Research

March 2016

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) announced the winners of its fifteen 2016 awards for excellence in education research. AERA will honor the recipients for their outstanding scholarship and service at the fourth annual Awards Luncheon, April 10, at the AERA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

“This year’s award winners exemplify commitment to the study and practice of education,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “We are proud to honor their outstanding scholarship and service to the field.”

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award
Recipient: Michelene Chi (Arizona State University)

The Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award is the premier acknowledgment of outstanding achievement and success in education research. It is designed to publicize, motivate, encourage, and suggest models for education research at its best.

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award
Recipient: James Anderson (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign)

This award is in recognition of the lifelong achievement of Palmer O. Johnson as a dedicated educator, and further in recognition of his pioneer work in educational research and methodology. The award is given for an outstanding article appearing in an AERA-sponsored publication.

E. F. Lindquist Award
Recipient: Jamal Abedi (University of California, Davis)

This award is presented jointly by AERA and ACT in recognition of outstanding applied or theoretical research in the field of testing and measurement. The award is meant to acknowledge a body of research of an empirical, theoretical, or integrative nature rather than a single study.

Early Career Award
Recipient: Christopher Emdin (Teachers College, Columbia University)

Established to honor an individual in the early stages of his or her career no later than 10 years after receipt of the doctoral degree, this award is granted for study in any field of educational inquiry.

Outstanding Book Award
Recipient: Diana Hess (Pictured Left, University of Wisconsin, Madison), Paula McAvoy (Pictured Right, University of Wisconsin, Madison)

The Political Classroom: Evidence and Ethics in Democratic Education, Routledge, 2014

The Outstanding Book Award was established to acknowledge and honor the year’s best book-length publication in education research and development.

Social Justice in Education Award
Recipient: Kevin Kumashiro (University of San Francisco)

Established in 2004, the Social Justice in Education Award honors an individual who has advanced social justice through education research and exemplified the goal of linking education research to social justice.

Distinguished Public Service Award
Recipient: Shirley Malcom (American Association for the Advancement of Science)

This award is granted annually in recognition of an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies that are well grounded in education research, or who has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research.

Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards
The AERA Committee on Scholars of Color in Education awards are intended to recognize (a) scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues that disproportionately affect minority populations, and (b) minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to education research and development.

  • Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award
    Recipient: Walter Allen (University of California, Los Angeles)

    Presented to a senior-level scholar, usually 20 years or more after his or her receipt of a doctoral degree.
  • Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award
    Recipient: Sherick Hughes (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)

    Presented to a scholar in midcareer who is beyond the first level of professional appointment and for whom 10 or more years have passed since receipt of the doctoral degree.
  • Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award
    Recipient: Roberto Gonzales (Harvard University)

    Presented to a scholar who is within the first decade of his or her career after receipt of a doctoral degree.

Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award
Recipient: James L. Moore III (Ohio State University)

Established in 2006, the Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award recognizes individuals within AERA for distinguished research, professional practice, and activities that advance public understanding of gender and/or sexuality at any level in the education community.

Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award
Recipient: Robert Cooper III (University of California - Los Angeles)

This award is presented to an education research scholar or scholars in recognition of collaborative project(s) between researchers and practitioners that have had sustained and observable effects on contexts of practice.

Excellence in Media Reporting on Education Research Award
Recipient: John Merrow (Education Week Video)

This award is presented to an individual in the media who has demonstrated excellence in raising awareness, knowledge, and understanding of education research.

Outstanding Public Communication of Education Research Award
Recipient: David Berliner (Arizona State University)

This award recognizes a scholar who has excelled in conveying important findings and research to wide audiences and who has demonstrated the capacity to deepen understanding and appreciation of the value of education research in the public sphere.

Review of Research Award
Recipient: Eve Manz (Boston University)

This award is given in recognition of an outstanding review of research article appearing in the Review of Research in Education and the Review of Educational Research.

Share This

Your Contact Information

Your Feedback