2013 AERA Election Results
2013 AERA Election Results
2013 AERA Election Results

March 2013

Joyce E. King, who holds the Mays Endowed Chair for Urban Teaching, Learning and Leadership at Georgia State University, was voted AERA president-elect in the Association’s recent 2013 election. King is currently program chair of Division K (Teaching and Teacher Education), and a prior co-editor of AERA’s top-ranked Review of Educational Research. The AERA official press release includes additional information.

Three other prominent scholars were elected to member-at-large positions on the AERA Council, commencing in 2013–2014. The three new members-at-large are Rubén Donato, professor and Chair of Educational Foundations, Policy and Practice at the University of Colorado, Boulder (3-year term); Margaret G. McKeown, senior scientist at the University of Pittsburgh’s Learning Research and Development Center and clinical professor (3-year term); and Mitchell J. Chang, professor of education at the University of California, Los Angeles (1-year term). McKeown will also serve on the Executive Board.

Geni Cowan, professor at California State University, Sacramento, will serve as chair of the SIG Executive Committee for a 3-year term. In that role, she will also serve on AERA Council for three years, effective 2013–2014.

Five education researchers were elected as division vice presidents and will join AERA’s 2014–2015 Council at the conclusion of the 2014 Annual Meeting. They are Ming Fang He, professor of curriculum studies at Georgia Southern University (Division B); Joy Williamson-Lott, associate professor at the University of Washington (Division F); Elizabeth Moje, associate dean for research and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor at the University of Michigan (Division G); and Zollie Stevenson, Jr., associate professor of educational administration  at Howard University (Division H). Finally, Ashley Patterson, Ohio State University, was voted chair-elect of the Graduate Student Council and will join the AERA Council in 2014 for a two-year term.

A total of 5,155 ballots were cast in this year’s election. The participation rate among eligible voters was 20.338%.

The complete 2013 election results can be viewed here.