New RRE Editors Named, Call for Proposals Announced
New RRE Editors Named, Call for Proposals Announced

July  2020

11. RERRonald Beghetto (Arizona State University) and Yong Zhao (University of Kansas) have been appointed editors for the 2022 and 2024 editions (Volumes 46 and 48) of the Review of Research in Education (RRE). AERA President Shaun Harper appointed Beghetto and Zhao at the recommendation of the Journal Publications Committee, concluding a process that began in 2019 with a call for nominations, followed by candidate applications and committee deliberations.

Each volume of RRE published annually, provides an overview and descriptive analysis of a selected topic through critical essays. RRE promotes discussion and controversy about research problems, in addition to pulling together and summarizing the work in a particular area of scholarship.

The topics for the 2022 and 2024 volumtes are, respectively, "Democratizing Creative Educational Experiences" and "Educational Side Effects."

The Call for Proposals for the 2022 volume is available here; proposals are due November 1, 2020, through the RRE online submission platform. Authors invited to prepare mansucripts will need to submit final versions for peer review by May 15, 2021, to allow for any necessary revisions before publication in March 2022.

Beghetto photo637318193608429487 Ronald Beghetto is the Pinnacle West Presidential Chair and professor, Division of Teacher Education, in the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College at Arizona State University. His research focuses on creative thought and action in educational settings.  Beghetto is editor of the Journal of Creative Behavior, a creativity advisor for the LEGO Foundation, and a fellow of the American Psychological Association and the Society for the Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts. Prior to joining the faculty at ASU, Beghetto served as professor and director of Innovation House at the University of Connecticut. He has also served as associate dean for academic affairs and associate professor of education studies at the University of Oregon.  Beghetto has received numerous awards for his research and teaching, including the Rudolf Arnheim Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity & the Arts and the University of Oregon’s Ersted Crystal Apple Award.

Zhao photo

Yong Zhao is a Foundation Distinguished Professor in the School of Education at the University of Kansas and a professor in Educational Leadership at the Melbourne Graduate School of Education in Australia. He previously served as the Presidential Chair, associate dean, and director of the Institute for Global and Online Education in the College of Education, University of Oregon, where he was also a professor in the Department of Educational Measurement, Policy, and Leadership. Before that, Zhao was University Distinguished Professor at the College of Education, Michigan State University. Zhao has received numerous awards, including the Early Career Award from AERA, the Outstanding Public Educator Award from the Horace Mann League of the USA, and the Distinguished Achievement Award in Professional Development from the Association of Educational Publishers. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Education and a fellow of the International Academy of Education. 

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH