Major Lectures Will Enlighten and Inspire at Annual Meeting
Major Lectures Will Enlighten and Inspire at Annual Meeting

February 2023

As the single largest gathering of scholars in the education research field, the 2023 Annual Meeting will offer a rich array of sessions and events for all attendees. Major lectures by prominent speakers will provide an opportunity to examine cutting-edge ideas in the field.

Cornel West Rich Milner

Highlights include the keynote address by eminent scholar Cornel West (Union Theological Seminary) and the Presidential Address by AERA President Rich Milner (Vanderbilt University). West will deliver the keynote at this year’s Opening Plenary, which will be followed by a conversation with Milner and a moderated Q&A with on-site and virtual audience members. The Presidential Address is a “can’t miss” event, where the state and future of the field are examined.

Also of vital importance to the field are the AERA Distinguished Lecture and the Wallace Foundation Distinguished Lecture, delivered annually by prominent scholars.

Arnetha Ball (Stanford University) will give the AERA Distinguished Lecture, titled “Conducting Consequential Research in Challenging Times: Generative Change for Educational Equity.” She will spend her talk “highlighting some of the most pressing challenges facing education today, many of which have been exacerbated by inequitable access to and applications of technology, which lead to inequitable learning opportunities and outcomes.” Ball will discuss the potential for education technology to address these challenges.

Arnetha Ball Linda C. Tillman

Linda C. Tillman (University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill) will deliver the Wallace Foundation Distinguished Lecture, titled “The Leadership They Deserve: Effective Principal Leadership for Black Students in Public Schools.” Tillman’s lecture will focus on “the importance of and the imperative for effective principal preparation programs and principal leadership for Black students in public schools.” Her lecture will draw on relevant research and the mission of the Wallace Foundation.

Learn more about Ball’s and Tillman’s lectures on the AERA website.

In addition to these major lectures, there will be six award lectures delivered by five 2022 AERA award recipients and one 2021 AERA award recipient. These compelling lectures will cover important issues in education and education research, including inequality in U.S. mathematics education, the pursuit of more equitable educational outcomes for all, the future of bilingual education, and more.

William H. Schmidt (Michigan State University) will deliver the 2022 Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award Lecture. Carol D. Lee (Northwestern University) will give the 2021 Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award Lecture, which was rescheduled from the 2022 Annual Meeting.

The 2022 Distinguished Public Service Award Lecture will be given by Peggy G. Carr (National Center for Education Statistics). Daniel M. Koretz (Harvard University) will deliver the 2022 E. F. Lindquist Award Lecture. Nelson Flores (University of Pennsylvania) will give the 2022 Early Career Award Lecture. And finally, Tyrone C. Howard (University of California, Los Angeles) will give the 2022 Social Justice in Education Award Lecture.

Dates, times, locations, and abstracts for each award lecture are available on the website.

Extended information about the 2023 Annual Meeting program is available on the website. The program can be viewed here without logging in.