AERA Selects New Editors for Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis
AERA Selects New Editors for Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis

February 2022

AERA has announced the appointment of Geoffrey Borman (Arizona State University), A. Brooks Bowden (University of Pennsylvania), Deven Carlson (University of Oklahoma), Amanda Datnow (University of California, San Diego), and Sylvia Hurtado (University of California, Los Angeles) as the new co-editors of Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis (EEPA) for 2023–2025. This team will succeed co-editors Joseph R. Cimpian (New York University), Julie A. Marsh (University of Southern California), Paco Martorell (University of California, Davis), and Morgan Polikoff (University of Southern California; on leave from EEPA).

“The Journal Publications Committee was impressed with the breadth of this team’s proposal and their well-conceptualized plan for leading and managing the journal,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “In particular, the Committee noted their laudable goal of ‘publishing and disseminating the best evidence that will advance research-based programs, policies, and practices that promote educational equity.’”

The team was appointed by AERA President Na’ilah Suad Nasir. Their appointment followed an extensive search led by the AERA Journal Publications Committee, which is charged with making editorial recommendations to the president. As editors, the new team will begin receiving new manuscripts on July 1, 2022.

The co-editors will be joined by an esteemed group of associate editors that includes Audrey Amrein-Beardsley (Arizona State University), Ayesha Boyce (Arizona State University), Nianbo Dong (The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), Jason Snipes (WestEd), and Maria T. Tatto (Arizona State University).

EEPA publishes manuscripts of theoretical or practical interest to those engaged in educational evaluation or policy analysis, including economic, demographic, financial, and political analyses of education policies, and significant meta-analyses or syntheses that address issues of current concern. The journal seeks high-quality research on how reforms and interventions affect educational outcomes; research on how multiple educational policy and reform initiatives support or conflict with each other; and research that informs pending changes in educational policy at the federal, state, and local levels, demonstrating an effect on early childhood through early adulthood.

About the Co-Editors

Geoffrey D. Borman is the Alice Wiley Snell Endowed Professor at Arizona State University. He is an AERA Fellow and the recipient of numerous awards, including the National Academy of Education Postdoctoral Fellowship Award, the AERA Raymond Cattell Early Career Award, the AERA Review of Research Award, and the AERA Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award. Borman's main substantive research interests focus on policies and practices to address educational inequality and his methodological background includes directing multiple Institute of Education Sciences Ph.D. training programs in causal inference and interdisciplinary research. 

A. Brooks Bowden is an assistant professor in the Education Policy Division at the Graduate School of Education at the University of Pennsylvania, where she also serves as the director of the Center for Benefit-Cost Studies of Education. She is an expert in program evaluation and economic analysis, focusing on applications and the methodology of the ingredients method to conduct cost-effectiveness analyses. Her research examines approaches that address the whole child by providing supplemental support and resources through partnerships with parents/caregivers, volunteer tutors, and community organizations. She serves as associate editor at the American Journal of Evaluation and is a current board member of EEPA.  

Deven Carlson is associate director for education at the Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis, Presidential Research Professor, and associate professor of political science at the University of Oklahoma. Carlson's research agenda explores the operations of public policies and analyzes their effects on political, social, and economic outcomes of interest. He is currently working on several projects, including the effects of the socioeconomic desegregation policy operated by the Wake County Public School System and the effects of need-based financial aid on students’ future labor market outcomes.

Amanda Datnow is professor and Chancellor’s Associates Endowed Chair in the Department of Education Studies and associate dean of the Division of Social Sciences at the University of California, San Diego. Her research focuses on educational reform and policy, particularly with regard to issues of equity and the professional lives of educators.  Over the past decade, she has conducted numerous studies examining the use of data for instructional improvement, teacher collaboration, and leadership, as well as projects aimed at transformative educational change.

Sylvia Hurtado is a professor at the UCLA School of Education and Information Studies, in the Division of Higher Education and Organizational Change. She has written extensively on the campus racial climate, improving STEM pathways for underrepresented groups, and equity and diversity in higher education. She has conducted longitudinal survey research on college students, and more recently conducts evaluative work on STEM interventions and institutional change, using case study and mixed methods designs. She received the 2015 Exemplary Research Achievement award from AERA Division J, the AERA Social Justice in Education Award in 2018, and was elected to the National Academy in Education in 2019.


Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH