AERA-NSF Grants Program Releases New Calls for Dissertation and Research Proposals—October 17 Deadline
AERA-NSF Grants Program Releases New Calls for Dissertation and Research Proposals—October 17 Deadline

August 2018

The AERA-NSF Grants Program just released new calls for dissertation and research grant proposals. The submission deadline is October 17 for awards to begin as early as January 2019.

The Grants Program supports advanced quantitative research and statistical analysis of major data sets made possible by federal government support. Dissertation and research grant proposals are encouraged on all aspects of education and learning of relevance to STEM policy. The detailed calls provide important guidance.

The Grants Program has driven significant research, findings, and data use since its inception in 1991. The program continues to support and encourage rigorous research using federally supported national and international data sets. The new calls include use of statewide administrative data systems (SLDS), emphasize methodological innovations, seek to foster use of multiple or linked data resources, and encourage replication research. They also support reproducible knowledge and data sharing with considerable technical assistance and advice.

“This program is always at the right place at the right time,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine, who serves as principal investigator (PI). “I was impressed with this program before coming to AERA for its pioneering a culture of data use that speaks to large educational issues of policy significance to diverse populations. Over these many years, the program continues to transform and advance knowledge, and provide training and capacity building for the next generation of new scholars.”

George Wimberly, co-PI of this initiative and AERA Director of Professional Development, added that “this program not only invests in ideas and methods, but also in people and developing their careers.”  Wimberly said that “being a grantee is a lifelong opportunity to contribute important research, to receive invaluable mentoring, and ultimately to give back through advising early career cohorts in our program.”

The AERA-NSF Program benefits from and operates with the advice of a “working” Governing Board. In addition to the PIs, the Board includes Margaret R. Burchinal, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Louis Gomez, University of California, Los Angeles; Larry V. Hedges, Northwestern University; Heather C. Hill, Harvard University; Sarah Theule Lubienski, Indiana University; Chandra L. Muller, University of Texas at Austin; Laura W. Perna, University of Pennsylvania; William H. Schmidt, Michigan State University; Barbara Schneider (chair), Michigan State University; and Deborah Lowe Vandell, University of California, Irvine.

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH