AERA Past President Among Five Appointees to NAGB
AERA Past President Among Five Appointees to NAGB

August 2013

On August 1, Education Secretary Arne Duncan announced the appointment of five members to the National Assessment Governing Board (NAGB). One of those members is AERA past president W. James Popham, professor emeritus of the Graduate School of Education and Information Studies at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Popham will be serving his second four-year term on NAGB, which sets policy for the National Assessment of Educational Progress. He was first appointed to NAGB in 2009 as a testing and measurement expert and will continue in that category during this next term.

Secretary Duncan appointed three other current NAGB members to a second four-year term: Doris Hicks, an elementary school principal in New Orleans; Tonya Miles, a general public representative and parent from Maryland; and Texas State Sen. Leticia Van de Putte. Lucille E. Davy, an education policy consultant, was selected as a new member as a general public representative. Terms for these members begin October 1, 2013, and end September 30, 2017.

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH