Eight Education Researchers Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Eight Education Researchers Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 2023

Eight education researchers, including former AERA President Vivian L. Gadsden, have been elected to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The education researchers included are among 269 other members elected. The announcement was made by the academy on April 19.

Joining Gadsden includes AERA Fellows Alfredo J. Artiles (past winner of the Scholars of Color in Education Distinguished Career Contribution Award and the Palmer O. Johnson Award), Henry Braun (past winner of the E. F. Lindquist Award), Cindy E. Hmelo-Silver, and Anna Sfard, as well as past two-time AERA award winner Jacqueline Jordan Irvine (AERA Social Justice in Education Award and Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award).

The elected education researchers are:

  • Vivian L. Gadsden, University of Pennsylvania
  • Alfredo J. Artiles, Stanford University
  • Henry Braun, Boston College
  • Cindy E. Hmelo-Silver, Indiana University
  • Jacqueline Jordan Irvine, Emory University
  • Wade Boykin, Howard University
  • Ofelia García, City University of New York
  • Anna Sfard, University of Haifa

The academy is an honorary society founded in 1780, which is dedicated to recognizing excellence and relying on expertise to advance the public good. New elected members are accomplished individuals from the non-profit, private, and public sectors.

"AERA extends its warmest congratulations to these scholars for this honor," said Executive Director Felice J. Levine. "Their election into the academy brings important awareness to the field of education research and its applications to advancing the common good."

More than 13,500 members have been elected since the academy’s founding. Gadsden joins several other AERA past presidents who are members in the academy, including William F. Tate, IV, Deborah Loewenberg Ball, James A. Banks, Linda Darling-Hammond, Kris D. Gutiérrez, Gloria Ladson-Billings, Carol D. Lee, Na’ilah Suad Nasir, Lauren B. Resnick, Lee S. Shulman, Catherine E. Snow, and Vanessa Siddle Walker.