2023 Award Winners Honored at Annual Meeting Ceremony
2023 Award Winners Honored at Annual Meeting Ceremony

April 2023

Felice J. Levine (left) and Rich Milner (right) speaking on stage at the 2023 Awards Celebration

At the place-based component of the 2023 Annual Meeting in Chicago, AERA honored the winners of its 2023 awards at a well-attended ceremony on Saturday, April 15. The event was hosted by AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine and 2022–2023 AERA President Rich Milner.

Before each award and citation were announced, the winner was honored by a video that lauded their exceptional work. Award winners were met with loud applause from an enthusiastic audience eager to celebrate the 2023 cohort.

The final and most prestigious award of the ceremony, the Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award, was given to James A. Banks, 1997-1998 AERA Past President, for his wide-ranging accomplishments in multicultural education over the last 50 years. After accepting the award, Dr. Banks received a standing ovation from the audience.

James A. Banks speaking on stage at the 2023 Awards Celebration

“We are honored to present this year’s awards in person to an excellent and deserving group of scholars,” said Levine. “Their contributions to education research, across all career stages and fields, have made and continue to make a difference in the lives of students and educators.”

Citations and videos highlighting the achievements of the honorees are available on the AERA website


2023 Award Winners

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award
Recipient: James A. Banks (University of Washington)

Distinguished Public Service Award
Recipient: Linda Darling-Hammond (Learning Policy Institute)

Excellence in Media Reporting on Education Research Award
Recipient: Natalie Moore (WBEZ)

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award
Recipient: Christopher T. Bennett (RTI International)

Review of Research Award                     
Recipients: Katherine M. Zinsser (University of Illinois, Chicago), H. Callie Silver (Stanford University), Elyse R. Shenberger (University of Illinois, Chicago), Velisha Jackson (University of Illinois, Chicago).

Outstanding Book Award
Recipient: Hava Rachel Gordon (University of Denver)

E. F. Lindquist Award
Recipient: James W. Pellegrino (University of Illinois, Chicago)

Early Career Award
Recipient: Dominique Baker (Southern Methodist University)

Social Justice in Education Award
Recipient: Marc Lamont Hill (Temple University)

Distinguished Contributions to Gender Equity in Education Research Award
Recipient: Jackie Blount (The Ohio State University)

Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award
Recipient: Christopher Emdin (University of Southern California)

Outstanding Public Communication of Education Research Award
Recipient: Annette C. Anderson (Johns Hopkins University)  

Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award
Recipient: Mildred Boveda (Pennsylvania State University)

Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award
Recipient: Thandeka K. Chapman (University of California, San Diego)

Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award
Recipient: William A. Smith (University of Utah)

Group Photo of the 2023 AERA Award Winners