DeVos Appoints Six Members to NAGB and Makes Additional Nominations for Key Education Positions
DeVos Appoints Six Members to NAGB and Makes Additional Nominations for Key Education Positions

October 2017

Education Secretary Betsy DeVos announced on September 28 the appointment of six members to the National Assessment Governing Board. NAGB is an independent, nonpartisan board that sets policy for the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) and is responsible for communicating results of the NAEP tests.

DeVos selected former Michigan governor John Engler, one of the general public representative appointees, to serve as chair of NAGB for 2017–2018. The other five appointments include:

  • Dana Boyd, principal of East Point Elementary School in the El Paso, Texas, Ysleta Independent School District.
  • Gregory Cizek, Guy B. Phillips Distinguished Professor of Educational Measurement and Evaluation at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. He previously served a partial term on NAGB.
  • Tyler Cramer, a general public representative with experience as chair of the San Diego Business Roundtable for Education. He previously served on the NAGB Business Policy Task Force.
  • James Geringer, director of policy and public sector strategies at the Environmental Systems Research Institute and former governor of Wyoming. He has served on NAGB since 2013.
  • Beverly Purdue, former governor of North Carolina and founder and chair of the non-profit organization DigiLEARN.

Cizek, an AERA member, fills the NAGB position allocated for a testing and measurement expert.

NAGB is currently accepting nominations for five open positions for its 2018–2022 term: fourth-grade teacher; eighth-grade teacher; secondary school principal; chief state school officer; and general public representative. The deadline for submitting nominations is 5:00 pm ET on October 31.

NAGB will hold its next quarterly meeting November 16–18 in Washington, DC.

Other Education Department Appointments

In addition to the NAGB appointees, the Trump administration nominated people for three leadership positions in the Department of Education: Jim Blew, director of Student Success California, to be Assistant Secretary for Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Development; Mitchell Zais, former South Carolina Superintendent of Education, to be Deputy Secretary of Education; and Michigan State Representative Timothy Kelly to be Assistant Secretary for Career, Technical, and Adult Education.

The Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions approved the nomination of Carlos Muniz to serve as General Counsel on October 19.