Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards
Committee on Scholars of Color in Education Awards


2016 Recipients

Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award
Sherick A. Hughes
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Sherick A. Hughes is an Associate Professor at the School of Education, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. His research focuses on critical race studies and black education; social context of schooling in urban and rural education; interdisciplinary foundations of education; and qualitative/mixed research methodology. His work has been recognized by Phi Delta Kappa and the Harvard Family Involvement Network of Educators. Dr. Hughes has authored three books, including Black Hands in the Biscuits Not in the Classrooms: Unveiling Hope in a Struggle for Brown’s Promise, which received the 2007 American Educational Studies Association Critics’ Choice Award.

The Scholars of Color Distinguished Scholar Award is awarded to a scholar mid-level in his or her career who is beyond his/her first level of professional appointment and for whom ten (10) or more years has past since receipt of the doctoral degree.

Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award
Roberto G. Gonzales
Harvard University                       

Roberto G. Gonzales, Assistant Professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, is a qualitative sociologist whose research focuses on the ways in which legal and educational institutions shape the everyday experiences of poor, minority, and immigrant youth and young adults. He is a scholar of immigration and educational policy, particularly in the emerging field of sociological studies of undocumented and Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals college students. Dr. Gonzales has published over 25 articles and book chapters and is the author of Lives in Limbo: Undocumented and Coming of Age in America.

The Scholars of Color Early Career Contribution Award is awarded to a scholar who is within the first decade of his or her career following receipt of the doctoral degree.

Distinguished Career Contribution Award
Walter R. Allen
University of California, Los Angeles

Walter R. Allen is the Allan Murray Cartter Chair of Higher Education and Distinguished Professor of Education (and of Sociology) at the University of California, Los Angeles. He has devoted much of his academic career to using scientific scholarship in advancing both public understanding and social policy around important issues of equity and equality in education. He is widely recognized as one of the leading experts on diversity, equity, and access in higher education. Dr. Allen’s work has played a significant role in several key court cases on higher education access/diversity, including Ayers v. Fordice and Grutter v. Bollinger; in the latter, he also served as an expert witness.                      

These three awards are intended to recognize (1) scholars at different stages in their careers who have made significant contributions to the understanding of issues which disproportionately affect minority populations, and (2) minority scholars who have made a significant contribution to educational research and development. 

Past Recipients

Distinguished Career Contribution Award 
2015 - Patricia C. Gándara
2014 - Award not given
2013 - Jo-ann Archibald
2012 - Celia S. Genishi
2011-Henry T. Frierson
2010 - Carol Camp Yeakey
2009 - Caroline Sotello Viernes Turner
2008 - James D. Anderson
2007 - Karen Swisher
2006 - Sonia Nieto
2005 - Donna Ford
2004 - Enrique "Henry" T. Trueba
2003 - Okhee Lee
2002 - Samuel S. Peng
2001 - Richard R. Valencia
2000 - Joyce King
1999 - Flora Rodriguez Brown
1998 - Walter G. Secada
1997 - Valerie Ooka Pang
1996 - James Banks
1995 - Ronald Takaki
1994 - Edmund Gordon
1993 - Carl Grant

Distinguished Scholar Award 
2015 - Kevin K. Kumashiro
2014 - Janelle T. Scott
2013 - Sharon Nelson-Barber
2012 - Christine Jean Yeh
2011 - Jerlando F. L. Jackson 
2010 - Dolores Delgado Bernal
2009 - Cynthia Hudley
2008 - Carol D. Lee and Francisco A. Rios
2007 - Kris Gutierrez
2006 - Madonna G. Constantine
2005 - Maria E. Franquiz
2004 - Michèle L. Foster
2003 - No award presented
2002 - No award presented
2001 - Christian J. Faltis
2000 - Lin Goodwin
1999 - Kofi Lomotey
1998 - Asa G. Hilliard III
1997 - Jacqueline Jordan Irvine
1996 - Celia Genishi
1995 - Christine Sleeter
1994 - Kenji Hakuta
1993 - Concepcion M. Valadez

Early Career Contribution Award 
2015 - Ebony O. McGee
2014 - Dorinda Carter Andrews and Eve Tuck
2013 - Vichet Chhuon
2012 - Brendesha M. Tynes
2011 - Bic H. Ngo 
2010 - Valerie Kinloch
2009 - Bryan McKinley Jones Brayboy
2008 - Lamont A. Flowers
2007 - Tyrone C. Howard & Michele S. Moses
2006 - Rich Milner
2006 - Gregory Tanaka
2005 - Cornel D. Pewewardy
2004 - Linda C. Tillman
2003 - Xin Ma
2002 - M. Christopher Brown II
2001 - Alfredo J. Artiles
2000 - William F. Tate
1999 - John W. Young
1998 - Vivian L. Gadsden
1997 - Oscar Kawagley
1996 - Donna Yvette Ford
1995 - Gloria Ladson-Billings
1994 - Ana Maria Villegas
1993 - Violet Harris

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH