Postsecondary Education (J)

Message from Division VP

Welcome to the Division J scholarly community. As a longtime member of Division J, it is a pleasure to serve AERA in the Vice President role. This Division of AERA focuses on scholars and practitioners who study postsecondary issues such as postsecondary organizations, policy, college student experiences and transitions, and postsecondary curricular issues. The Division provides a venue for scholars to come together for research conversations and collaborations. 

As part of AERA, Division J is dedicated to expanding and deepening knowledge around issues that influence postsecondary education in today’s societal context. The programs sponsored by Division J at the AERA Annual Meeting challenge the status quo by attempting to address systems and processes that can deny access and limit the potential of students, faculty, and staff. As a group of scholars, we seek to interrogate current practices to make them better for the diverse individuals who are part of the higher education enterprise.

I welcome you to engage with seasoned and early-career colleagues through the various programs sponsored by the Division. Though AERA is a large educational conference, the Division J Business Meeting is an opportune place to connect with scholars and practitioners you know and to recognize the accomplishments of our peers. I look forward to seeing you at the Business Meeting at the upcoming AERA Annual Meeting. 

Vasti Torres
Vice President, Division J
Professor in the Center for the Study of Higher & Postsecondary Education
University of Michigan 

Vasti_Torres_2018 small636959527272007319

Who We Are

Division J serves as an international forum for policymakers, faculty, graduate students, and other researchers to promote and advance research, policy, and practice in all areas of postsecondary education.

Division J Governance

Committees and Chairs

Key Initiatives

Each year Division J has multiple initiatives.

Learn more

Each year Division J accepts nominations for four awards: Outstanding Publication, Exemplary Research, Dissertation of the Year, and Outstanding Poster. 

Learn more
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH