Path Breaker Award (2021)

The Path Breaker Award is given in recognition of collaborative research by a scholar and graduate student who co-author an article related to giftedness, creativity, or talent that is published in a journal not traditionally or regularly focused on these fields. The Path Breaker Award is designed to reward scholars in our field for publishing in journals that would not traditionally include articles with a focus on gifted, talented, or creative populations. The article should be published in the last two years (2019-2021).

Selection Criteria (in the following order of importance, beginning with most important):

  • Quality of the article (new data or analysis of existing data, strong methodology, etc.).
  • Prestige of journal in which the article has been accepted.
  • The compelling arguments of the submitted rationale.

Nominations for the Path Breaker Award should be sent by January 15, 2021 through the application portal here (clicking on the form will give more detail on selection criteria):

For any questions, please contact the chair of the awards committee, Dr. Jonathan Wai (

Michael Pyryt Collaboration Award (2020)

The Awards Committee would like to invite you to submit your paper for the Michael Pyryt Collaboration Award. This award is for a paper published in the past 2 years that included a collaboration between a scholar in the field of gifted education and a scholar outside of the field, in memory of our friend and longtime gifted collaborator, Michael Pyryt. 

There is a change to the application process this year. We are instituting an online system. Please submit your application to the following:


This award was created to recognize a scholar of giftedness, creativity or talent development and a collaborator who has not previously published scholarship associated with giftedness, creativity, or talent. The award is given to those who seek to promote scholarship in the area of giftedness, creativity, and talent to the larger education research community through collaborations and who concurrently benefit from the insights of important scholars who have not previously studied or written about gifted, talented, or creative populations.

Eligibility Requirements:

**  Publication (may be “On-line First”) in a gifted or creativity journal (such as Gifted Child Quarterly, Journal for the Education of the Gifted, Roeper Review, High Ability Studies, Journal of Advanced Academics, Journal of Creative  Behavior, or Creativity Research Journal). 

** The paper must have been published after January, 2018.

** One co-author is scholar in the field of giftedness, creativity, or talent and a member of the ROGCT SIG.

** One co-author is post-doctoral degree, has not previously published in the fields of giftedness, creativity, or talent development, but has a strong history of published scholarship in another field.

**  The potential impact of the work on the fields of giftedness, creativity, or talent development should be significant.

**  The overall quality of the publication should represent high quality methodological design and/or theoretical and conceptual frameworks.

Form of Recognition:

**  Cash award of $250 for the first 2 authors of the winning paper

**  Plaque for each scholar

**  Recognition at the SIG business meeting


Applications due November 15, 2019.

Award winners notified by January 15, 2020.

Award will be announced and presented at the SIG Business Meeting at the AERA Conference, April 2020.


If you have any questions concerning this award, please contact the chair of the awards committee.

Dr. Hope E. Wilson


2019 Awards

2019-04-06 18.42.14

2019-04-06 18.42.39

2019-04-06 18.44.24

The AERA Special Interest Group for Research on Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent gives three awards to deserving colleagues in the research community.  The Michael Pyryt Collaboration Award and Path Breaker Award are given on alternating years and the Graduate Student Travel Award is given annually.
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH