Who We Are
Who We Are
 
QR SIG Purpose
Print

The Qualitative Research Special Interest Group, QRSIG, established in 1987, was created to provide a space within AERA for the discussion of philosophical, ethical, and methodological issues in Qualitative Research as well as to seek cutting edge approaches to qualitative research methods.  The QRSIG strives to legitimize all non traditional forms of research, and to support other SIG's and Divisions with similar interests and goals, including an emphasis on ways that qualitative research may contribute to reducing inequality and injustice in schools and society.

 

 
 
Statement, Commitments, and Priorities
Print

Jun 19, 2020

Dear Qualitative Research SIG members,

In honor and recognition of Juneteenth, commemorating the ending of slavery in 1865, but with acknowledgement of the slavery that still exists today, we join AERA President, Shaun Harper, in his call to examine and disrupt our own complicity in systemic racism in the research we conduct and the systems in which we operate. It is imperative that this includes direct action in our work as a SIG, drawing upon our collective expertise and capacity. Qualitative researchers are in many ways uniquely positioned to take account of and make meaningful change against racist and oppressive systems of power—through our theories, our methodologies, and the contexts in which we conduct our work.

We propose these concrete steps that our SIG can take in the short term:

  • Uplift the voices of Black scholars and BIPOC scholars in our program for the 2021 conference through centering their work in panel and paper presentation spaces.
  • Include explicit focus on anti-racist and abolitionist qualitative research in the 2021 program
  • Support Black and BIPOC graduate students through graduate student travel awards and SIG mentoring
  • Amplify the voices of Black and BIPOC scholars through our podcast

As you prepare your 2021 AERA submissions (DEADLINE: July 22, 11:59 pm PDT), under the theme, "Accepting Educational Responsibility," we urge you to submit proposals that speak directly to the power of qualitative research in the present moment. If you identify as Black or BIPOC or if your work directly addresses anti-racist and abolitionist qualitative research through its theoretical framework or methodology, we encourage you to highlight that in your proposal if you are comfortable doing so.

This work and our commitment must extend beyond the Annual Meeting, and we must evaluate the current state of the SIG as well. In the longer term, we will host listening sessions with our SIG community so that we may plan together and implement actions to address how our community can support one another in sustaining anti-racist efforts.

The Executive Committee of the Qualitative Research SIG

 
 
Officers and Chairs
Print

SIG Chair
Jessica Van Cleave (jvancleave@mhu.edu)
Mars Hill University 

Immediate Past Chair
Jessica Nina Lester (jnlester@indiana.edu)
Indiana University 

Program Co-Chairs
Alex Panos (ampanos@usf.edu)
University of South Florida 

Cassie Quigley (CQUIGLEY@pitt.edu)
University of Pittsburgh 

Treasure
Emily Nusbaum (eanusbaum@usfca.edu)
University of San Francisco 

Secretary
Namita Mehta (namita.mehta@colorado.edu)
University of Colorado, Boulder

Graduate Student Travel Award Committee 
Amy Stich (astich@uga.edu)
University of Georgia

Book Award Committee
Travis Marn (marnt1@southernct.edu)
Southern Connecticut University

Mentoring Commitee
Kelly Guyotte (kwguyotte@ua.edu)
University of Alabama

Dissertation Award Committee
Jennifer Wolgemuth (jrwolgemuth@usf.edu)
University of South Florida

Graduate Student Committee
Erin Leach (erinaleach@gmail.com)
University of Georgia

Speaker Committee
David Carlson (dlcarlson2@gmail.com)
Arizona State University

Newsletter Editor
Lucinda Carspecken (lcarspec@indiana.edu)
University of Indiana

Webmaster
Timothy Wells (tcwells1@asu.edu)
Arizona State University

 
 
Committees
Print

Membership Committee

Chair: Amy Stich, Northern Illinois University (astich@niu.edu)
Chad Lochmiller, Indiana University (clochmil@indiana.edu)
Christopher Shamburg, New Jersey City University (cshamburg@njcu.edu)
Kim Nehls, University of Nevada-Las Vegas (kim.nehls@unlv.edu)
Sharon Holmes, Binghamton University (slholmes@binghamton.edu)
Sarah Truman, University of Toronto (sarah.truman@mail.utoronto.ca)
Mikela Bjork, University of Redlands (mikela_bjork@redlands.edu)

 Read More
 
 
Structure & Governance
Print
Bylaws

The By-laws of the SIG consist of the statement of mission, the listing of the roles and duties of officers, description of the elections at Annual Meeting, description of and support for the Egon G. Guba Invited Address at the Annual Meeting. Read More
 
 
In Memoriam
Print

Sari Knopp Biklen

John Ogbu

Elliot Eisner

Egon Guba

Clifford Geertz

 
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH