2022 Book Award: Moral Education for Social Justice



Moral Education for Social Justice (2021)

Larry Nucci and Robyn Ilten-Gee

The authors draw from their work with teachers and students to address issues of social justice through the regular curriculum and everyday school life. This book illustrates an approach that integrates social justice education with contemporary research on students’ development of moral understandings and concerns for human welfare in order to critically address societal conventions, norms, and institutions. The authors provide a clear roadmap for differentiating moral education from religious beliefs and offer age-appropriate guidance for creating healthy school and classroom environments. Demonstrating how to engage students in critical thinking and community activism, the book includes proven-effective lessons that promote academic learning and moral growth for the early grades through adolescence. The text also incorporates recent work with social-emotional learning and restorative justice to nurture students’ ethical awareness and disrupt the school-to-prison pipeline.

Teachers College Press

About Our Awards

The Moral Development and Education (MDE) Special Interest Group (SIG) confers a Book Award and a Promise Award during our SIG Business Meeting at the Annual Meeting of the American Educational Research Association. It is an exciting time in educational research related to moral development and education, and the MDE SIG encourages members to nominate exceptional work that moves the field forward in both new and established directions.

Book Award 

The purpose of the MDE Book Award is to recognize outstanding scholarly book contributions to the field in Moral Development and Education. The committee reviews nominations of books from the prior 3 years and makes the award based on its theoretical and practical significance to the field. The submission deadline for the Book Award is November 1st and all nominations, including self-nominations, should be sent to Awards Committee Chair via email (see below).

Promise Award 

The Promise Award is presented each year to a graduate student who exhibits outstanding potential for future contributions to the field. Historically, candidates for this award included only graduate students who had been nominated. As of 2022, the Awards Committee will review the proposals and final papers/presentations of alleligible participating graduate students. Specifically, eligible candidates include all graduate student members of the MDE-SIG, who are the sole or first author of the paper or work being presented. In short, nominations are no longer needed for eligible candidates to be considered for this award.