Who Are We
Who Are We
Division G Cabinet




  Vice President
Zeus Leonardo
University of California, Berkeley
Immediate Past Vice President 
Elizabeth Moje
University of Michigan
Annual Meeting Program Co-Chair 
Roland Sintos Coloma
Wayne State University
Annual Meeting Program Co-Chair 
Cleveland Hayes
Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis
Laura Roy
La Salle University
Chair of Equity and Inclusion 
OiYan Poon
Colorado State University   
Communications Director
Kenzo Sung
Rowan University
  Graduate Student Representatives    
(Senior Rep.) Adam Musser
University of California, Davis
(Junior Rep.) Jamelia Harris
University of California, Los Angeles

Section 1 Co-Chairs (Education and Place, Space, Time) 

Education and Space, Place, Time encompasses research related to geographical (space and place) settings as well time, the past, present, and futures of teaching and learning in formal and informal venues. Spatial units of analysis may be comprised of classroom, school, community, region, nation, and/or global scales. Temporal considerations may include historical and contemporary conditions as well as imagined and potential futures that are currently being conceptualized. The purpose is to build descriptions of and theoretical insights about teaching and learning across time and for present futures.

Lindsay Pérez-Huber
California State University, Long Beach
Pedro Nava
Mills College

Section 2 Co-Chairs (Differences and Intersectionalities) 

Differences and Intersectionalities emphasizes scholarship focused on experiences and implications of race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality, language, nationality, social class, dis/ ability, region, religion, spirituality, and additional forms of diversity. This section considers work regarding intersections of differences across and between education institutions and home/ community, theory and practice, social barriers and constraints, as well as sources of agency that may contribute to education opportunity and change.

Ed Brockenbrough
University of Pennsylvania 
Erika Bullock
University of Wisconsin-Madison   

Section 3 Co-Chairs (Languages, Literacies, and Representations)

Languages, Literacies, and Representations centers on the power, intricacies, and effects of languages, literacies, and representations. It documents and examines sign and representational systems that are textual, oral, visual, and affective; that engage embodied ways of knowing; and that draw from different literacies (Indigenous, global South, etc.). It addresses bilingualism, multilingualism, and bi-/multi-cultural literacies in formal or informal education (including foreign language, bilingual, and English as a Second Language settings). It examines representations in schools, popular cultures, music, media, and other informal educational sites.

Lamar L. Johnson
Michigan State University 
Claudia Cervantes-Soon
Arizona State University   

Section 4 Co-Chairs (Policies, Mattering, and Praxis) 

Policies, Mattering, and Praxis highlights inquiry into micro and macro education policies, politics, and praxis. This section encourages analyses of sociocultural contexts of education policy through approaches that highlight processes, histories, lived experiences, and outcomes. How and where policies, politics, and praxis matter; to whom and for what purposes; and how across pasts, presents, and futures are foci of this section. Innovative ontological, epistemological, and methodological approaches are welcome.

Binaya Subedi
The Ohio State University 
Venus Evans-Winters
Illinois State University

Section 5 Co-Chairs (Inquiry, Transformation, and Communities) 

Inquiry, Transformation, and Communities highlights the possibilities, insights, and challenges of education research. Analyses— including race/ethnic, feminist, queer, indigenous studies; decolonial, transnational; quantitative, qualitative, mixed-methods; ethnography; participatory action research; socio-cultural; historical; geographical; and new methodologies—that are situated within local and/or global contexts of education; that are transdisciplinary, collaborative, culturally appropriate; activist/advocacy oriented; theoretically and methodologically innovative; and that have the potential for fostering transformative outcomes in education and communities are encouraged in this section.

Nirmala Erevelles
University of Alabama 
Aria Razfar
University of Illinois at Chicago



Div G Vice Presidents and Secretaries


Division G appreciates your leadership and service

2020 - 2023   Jerome Morris
2017 - 2020   Zeus Leonardo
2014 - 2017   Elizabeth Birr Moje
2011 - 2014   Luis C. Moll
2009 - 2011   Alfredo J. Artiles
2008 - 2009   Garrett Albert Duncan
2006 - 2008   Carol D. Lee
2003 - 2006   Vivian L. Gadsden
2001 - 2003   Michele Foster
1999 - 2001   Beverly Gordon
1997 - 1999   Etta Hollins
1995 - 1997   M. Beatriz Arias
1993 - 1995   Henry T. Trueba
1991 - 1993   Evelyn Jacob
1989 - 1991   Concepcion M. Valadez
1987 - 1989   Frederick Erickson
1985 - 1987   Jane Hannaway
1983 - 1985   Marlaine Lockheed
1981 - 1983   Frank Besag
1979 - 1981   Mary Jo Bane


2020-2022   Ayanna Brown
2018 - 2020   Laura A. Roy
2016 - 2018   Tambra O. Jackson
2014 - 2016   Carmen L. Medina
2012 - 2014   Elizabeth M. Dutro
2010 - 2012   Adrienne D. Dixson
2008 - 2010   Jeffrey M.R. Duncan-Andrade
2006 - 2008   Stacey J. Lee
2004 - 2006   Alfredo J. Artiles
2002 - 2004   William F. Tate
2000 - 2002   Patricia Baquedano-Lopez
1998 - 2000   Delores A. Grayson
1996 - 1998   Lillian Vega Castaneda
1994 - 1996   Sheila Shannon
1992 - 1994   Lucinda Pease-Alvarez
1990 - 1992   Margaret D. LeCompte
1988 - 1990   Evelyn Jacob
1986 - 1988   Sandra Damico
1984 - 1986   Kathryn Cirincione-Coles
1982 - 1984   Carolyn Denham
1980 - 1982   Rachel Tompkins


Bylaws (PDF)


Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH