Meetings & Other Events
Meetings & Other Events
Division G Highlighted Events at 2019 AERA Annual Meeting 
1)  Div G Vice-Presidential Sessions
2)  Div G Business Meeting
Div G Cabinet Annual Planning Retreat
1)  Division G – Vice Presidential Sessions
Race(ing) across the Disciplines: How Research in Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology, and Law Understands Race and Racism
Saturday, April 6, 8:00-10:00am; Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 700 Level, Room 711
  Korina Jocson, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  Aida Hurtado, University of California, Santa Barbara
  Jonathan Warren and Michelle Kleisath, University of Washington and Shoreline Community College
  Hoang Vu Tran, Florida Atlantic University
  Nolan Cabrera, University of Arizona
  Ezekiel Dixon-Róman, University of Pennsylvania
Division G at 50 Years: VP Reflections on Changing Social Contexts of Education Across the Decades
Mon, April 8, 12:20-1:50pm; Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 700 Level, Room 701B
  Wanda S. Pillow, University of Utah
  Zeus Leonardo, Division G VP 2017-2020
  Alfredo J. Artiles, Division G VP 2009-2011
  Carol Lee, Division G VP 2006-2008
  Michele Foster, Division G VP 2001-2003
  Etta Hollins, Division G VP 1997-1999
  Concepcion M. Valadez, Division G VP 1989-1991
  Marlaine E. Lockheed, Division G VP 1983-1985
  Roland Sintos Coloma, Wayne State University
1619–2019: The Educational Implications of the 400th Anniversary of Enslaved Africans in Jamestown
Mon, April 8, 4:10-6:10pm; Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 700 Level, Room 711
Chair and Discussant:
  Ed Brockenbrough, University of Pennsylvania
  Cynthia Dillard, University of Georgia
  Brian Lozenski, Macalester College
  Ebony Thomas, University of Pennsylvania
  Joyce King, Georgia State University
Div G Graduate Student Panel - Whose Stories? Whose Truths? Storytelling What's Real in the Educational Experiences of Girls and Women of Color
Mon, April 8, 4:10-6:10pm; Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 700 Level, Room 716A
  Eliana Castro, Michigan State University
  Jamelia Harris, University of California, Los Angeles
  Adam Musser, University of California, Davis
  Eshe Price, Rowan University
  Jeremiah Sataraka, Washington State University
  Shena Sanchez, University of California, Los Angeles
  Nancy Carvajal Medina, Universidad Pedagógica y Tecnológica de Colombia
  Venus Evans-Winters, Illinois State University
  Dorothy Hines, University of Kansas
  Lee Maracle, Sessional Lecturer, University of Toronto
  Cati V. de los Ríos, University of California, Davis
Educational Research in the Wake: Becoming “Undisciplined” Post-Truth, Post-Trump
Tue, April 9, 12:20-1:50pm; Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 700 Level, Room 712
  Bessie Dernikos, Florida Atlantic University
  Justin Avery Coles, Fordham Graduate School of Education
  Bessie Dernikos, Florida Atlantic University
  Vaughn W.M. Watson, Michigan State University
  Asilia K Franklin-Phipps, The City University of New York
  Lauren Elizabeth Reine Johnson, Michigan State University
  Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz, Teachers College, Columbia University
2)  AERA 2019 Division G Business Meeting
7:05-7:15         Welcome and Vice President’s Report
#50G – Fifty Years of Division G History (1969-2019)
Cabinet Announcements
[Thank you to G cabinet members cycling off] Korina Jocson, Luis Urrieta, Michael Dumas, Maneka Brooks, Ezekiel Dixon-Róman, Dolores “Lola” Calderon, Wanda Pillow
[Welcome new program cabinet members] Cleveland Hayes (IUPUI), Lindsay Pérez-Huber (CSU-Long Beach), Erika Bullock (UW-Madison), Claudia Cervantes-Soon (ASU), Aria Razfar (UIC) OiYan Poon (Colorado State U)
[Welcome newly elected cabinet members] Secretary 2020-2022, Ayanna Brown (Elmhurst College); VP 2020-2023, Jerome Morris (U of Missouri, St. Louis)
7:15-7:20         Program Chairs’ Report –Wanda Pillow and Roland Coloma
7:20-7:25         Graduate Student Report –Shena Sanchez (senior rep); Adam Musser (junior rep)
7:25-7:35         Presentation of Community Organization Gift – Roland Coloma
Supporting Our Youth (
7:35-7:55         Panel: “The Future of Division G”
Shaun Harper (Provost Professor, University of Southern California)
Maisha T. Winn (Chancellor’s Leadership Professor, University of California, Davis)
Nicholas Hartlep (Associate Professor, Metropolitan State University, MN)
Berenicé Sanchez (PhD Candidate, Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis)
7:55-8:35         2019 Awards and Committees: Zeus Leonardo and Laura Roy
Distinguished Dissertation AwardLaura Chávez-Moreno (University of Wisconsin, Madison, dissertating institution), Introduced by Gabrielle Oliveira
Committee:  Leigh Patel (Chair), Natalie Davis, Thomas Phillip, Gabrielle Oliveira, Shirin Vossoughi
Early Career Award:  Edward Brockenbrough (University of Pennsylvania), Introduced by Maisha T. Winn
Committee: Maisha T. Winn (Chair), Rita Kohli, Nicole Joseph, Latrise Johnson, Mariana Souto-Manning
Mentoring Award (co-winners):  Rachel Endo (University of Washington, Tacoma) & Dorinda J. Carter Andrews (Michigan State University), Introduced by Kakali Bhattacharya
Committee: Kakali Bhattacharya (Chair), Anthony Brown, Jeong-Eun Rhee, Aria Razfar, Binaya Subedi
Henry T. Trueba Award for Research Leading to the Transformation of the Social Contexts of Education:  Pauline Lipman (University of Illinois, Chicago), Introduced by Hamann, Gonzalez and García
Committee: Edmund “Ted” Hamann, Victor Aurelio Zuñiga Gonzalez, and Juan Sánchez García (Team as Chair); Theodorea Berry, Lesley Bartlett, and Kevin Foster
Distinguished Contributions to Social Contexts in Education Research - Lifetime Achievement Award:  George W. Noblit (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill), Introduced by Vivian L. Gadsden
Committee: Vivian L. Gadsden (Chair), Sarah Michaels, Alfredo Artiles, Barbara Rogoff, Na'ilah Suad Nasir
8:35                 Adjournment
8:40-11:55      Joint Division G/K Reception, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, 700 Level, Room 718B, DJed by Dr. Jarrett Landor
Div G Cabinet Annual Planning Retreat
2019-2020 Cabinet Planning Retreat (Fall 2019: Detroit, MI)
2018-2019 Cabinet Planning Retreat (Fall 2018: Salt Lake City, UT)

[front, l-r] Korina Jocson, Luis Urrieta, Adam Musser, Nirmala Erevelles, Roland Sintos Coloma, Zeus Leonardo, Shena Sanchez, Kenzo Sung, Venus Evans-Winters

[back, l-r] Lamar Johnson, Michael Dumas, Ezekiel Dixon-Román, Binaya Subedi, Wanda Pillow, Dolores Calderón, Laura Roy, Ed Brockenbrough

(not pictured: Maneka Brooks)



Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH