2023 Award Winners


2023 Award Presentation


Chair Emma Espel presented award to Laura Laclede


2023 Award: 2nd place winners

Paper title: Introducing ViSA: An Initial Report on Video Survey Administration

2nd  Place Winners from Morgan University: 

Alaa Alkhalaiwi 

Christopher Amissah

Taj Rollins

Trent Haines (faculty)




Graduate Student Award

The SIG on survey research in education presents up to two monetary awards annually of $500.00 each to recognize and promote graduate students’ research interests in survey methodology. We encourage full time graduate students to submit their survey methodology-related paper proposals to our sig through the aera submission process. after they are accepted, they contact Dr. Tatia Prieto, Chair, SIG graduate student award committee, for consideration in the final selection process. The preliminary selection of candidates is based on the results of the aera proposal review process, and the final selection is made on the quality of the full papers.

Graduate student award criteria for 2024:

1. Full-time graduate student at time of initial paper submission or presentation

2. Scheduled presenter in a SIG on survey research in education session at the 2024 AERA annual meeting (place-based and virtual-based)

3. Member of survey research in education SIG (It's not too late to join)

4. Will attend the SIG's business meeting at the conference

—Dr. Tatia Prieto, Award Committee Chair


Paper title:

Using Nominal Models to Explore How Students Utilize an I Do No Know Response Option

From left to right: Beth Boesche-Taylor from New Tech Network, Laura Laclede from George Mason University , and Marvin Powell (faculty) from George Mason University