Dear SIG-IT Members,

SIG-IT is pleased to announce the awards program for the AERA annual meeting.  Please note that all AERA SIG IT Awards are distributed by our group for AERA. The two awards are:

  • Best Paper Award
  • Best Student Paper Award

The SIG-IT Best Paper Award will be presented to the scholar with the best research paper already submitted to SIG-IT and accepted for presentation at the AERA Conference in any format (paper, poster, or roundtable). The award recipient (or a group of awardees) will be given a plaque at the SIG-IT Business meeting during the annual meeting. 

The SIG-IT Best Student Paper Award will be presented to an emerging scholar who is currently a student and who has had a paper accepted by SIG-IT for the AERA Conference in any format (i.e., paper, poster, or roundtable). The purpose of the award is to encourage student participation within SIG-IT.  The award recipient (or a group of awardees) will receive a certificate.


Best Paper Award Past Recipients (Year: Paper Title with Authors)

2022: Examination of Systemic Factors that Impact Instructional Designers' Practices in Higher Education
Jill Stefaniak, University of Georgia

2021: Classroom Complexity Affects Student Teachers’ Behavior in a VR Classroom
Yizhen Huang, University of Potsdam; Eric Richter, University of Potsdam; Thilo Kleickmannd, Kiel University; Axel Wiepke, University of Potsdam; Dirk Richter, University of Potsdam.

2020: Predicting Student Performance by Modeling Participation in Online Discussions in Introductory Online Mathematics Courses
Ji-Eun Lee, Worcester Polytechnic Institute; Mimi Recker, Utah State University.

2019: Effects of Graphic Organizers in Online Discussions: Comparison between Instructor Provided and Student Generated
Kyungbin Kwon, Indiana University.

2012: An Investigation of Mobile Learning Readiness in Higher Education based on the Theory of Planned Behavior
Jongpil Cheon, Texas Tech University.

2009: A Follow-Up Study on Scaffolding Middle School Students' Creation of Evidence-Based Arguments
Brian Belland, Utah State University.

2007: Exploring Critical Factors Influencing Middle School Students' Problem-Solving with Web-enhanced Tools in Science Classes
Minchi Kim, Purdue University; Michael Hannafin , University of Georgia.

2006: Teacher Beliefs: The Final Frontier in our Quest for Technology Integration
Peg Ertmer, Purdue University.

Best Student Paper Award Past Recipients (Year: Paper Title with Authors)

2022: Design the Curriculum of Online Maker Education Using Educational AI Tools in the COVID-19 Situation
Keunjae Kim, Indiana University; Kyungbin Kwon, Indiana University

2021: The Impact of Gamification in Educational Settings on Student Learning Outcomes: A Meta-Analysis
Rui “Tammy” Huang, University of Florida; Albert Ritzhaupt, University of Florida; Max Sommer, University of Florida; Jiawen Zhu, University of Florida; Anita Stephen, University of Florida; Natercia Valle, Cornell University; John Hampton, University of Florida; Jingwei Li, University of Florida.

2020: Equitable Nursing Education Simulation through Holographic Video: Measuring Student Knowledge, Skill, and Motivation to Learn
Sean Hauze, San Diego State University & Helina Hoyt, San Diego State University-Imperial Valley.

2019: Coding in Scientific Modeling Lessons (CS-Model)
Lucas Vasconcelos, University of Georgia.

2010: Facilitating Learning in Complex Ecology Systems: Effect of Question Prompts versus System Dynamics Model Progressions as a Cognitive-Regulation Scaffold in a Simulation-Based Inquiry-Learning Environment
Deniz Eseryel, University of Oklahoma.

2009: The Development of a Content Analysis Model for Assessing Students' Cognitive Learning in Asynchronous Online Discussion
Dazhi Yang, Purdue University.

2008: The Effect of Collaboration Modality on Cognitive load, Science Inquiry Learning, and Motivation in A Situated Inquiry Environment
Benjamin E. Erlandson, Arizona State University.

2006: From Student to Student: Strategies for Successfully Gaining Graduate Teaching Experience
Richard E. West, University of Georgia.

2005: Michael M. Grant (Recipient name only) 

2004: Krista Glazewski (Recipient name only)