Who We Are
Who We Are
To engage teachers, administrators, teacher educators, researchers, policymakers and community members in a dialogue about tracking and detracking; to serve as a clearinghouse to disseminate research on tracking and detracking as well as to exchange ideas and information on strategies and best practices in detracking schools.
SIG Officers (2015-17)

Chairperson Elect: Briana Chang, The College Board

Briana Chang earned her Ph.D. from Temple University in Urban Education where she studied the effects of school institutional factors (e.g., tracking, racial composition) on opportunity gaps for students of color.Specifically, her dissertation examined the effects of school segregation and racialized tracking on students’ connection to science. Data were drawn from the High School Longitudinal Study of 2009; this use of national data allowed Briana to examine the detrimental effects of racialized tracking on the science identity/engagement of students of color using advanced statistical techniques. In prior work as a research assistant under Karolyn Tyson, Briana also supported a study tracing the history of racialized tracking in a suburban school district and its impact on the district’s black students. Her interest in studying tracking arose prior to attending graduate school while she was a secondary science teacher; Briana did her student teaching in the suburbs of Philadelphia and went on to teach in the School District of Philadelphia. While these contexts employed tracking in different ways, both had negative consequences for students of color.

Briana currently serves as a K-12 research scientist at The College Board where she uses large internal and external databases to conduct basic research and provide rigorous evaluations of College Board services. She is currently examining differences in course taking patterns for students who do or do not meet college readiness benchmarks. Using these experiences as a foundation, Briana hopes to continue her work exploring the dynamics of tracking and their consequences for educational equity.

Program Chair Elect: Marshall Jean, Northwestern University

Marshall Jean is a Postdoctoral Scholar at the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University.  He holds a PhD in Sociology and Certificate of Education Sciences from the University of Chicago.  A native of Louisiana, he has taught in a public high school in France as well as undergraduate and graduate courses on education policy and statistics. He specializes in large-scale quantitative analysis and hierarchical linear modeling (HLM).  His recent research includes the study of how student mobility affects learning growth rates, the use of surveys of student perceptions in evaluating classroom environments, the effects of homogenous ability grouping and tracking on academic engagement and learning behaviors, and the interpretation of value-added test scores.

Treasurer/Secretary: Amy Stich, Northern Illinois University

Amy E. Stich is an assistant professor at Northern Illinois University and a 2016 National Academy of Education/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellow. Stich is a sociologist of education and qualitative researcher whose work focuses on social class and inequality of access, opportunity, and outcome at various levels of education. Her current work examines tracking within higher education.

Membership Chair: Dean Ramser, CSU Dominguez Hills

Dean Ramser teaches pre-college and college-level courses in English composition and literature at several local community colleges, including correspondence composition for incarcerated students, and he is a lecturer at CSU Dominguez Hills. 

Currently, he is active in faculty learning committees (Flipping the Classroom, High Impact Practices) and participates in strategic planning sessions as well as norming sessions for Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs) and the Student Learning Outcomes assessment cycle. To increase student reading and writing success office hour visits are required as part of the writing process for all of his students. Part of the FLCs is sharing of current teaching strategies – so he recently presented at CSUDH’s Innovative Teaching Symposium and was featured in a recent CSU Dominguez Hills Newsletter because of his extensive use of Affordable Learning Solutions (OER), including WriteLab’s smart writing technology. 

Web Manager: Kamilah Legette, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Kamilah Legette is post-doctoral fellow with the Center for Developmental Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She received her PhD from the Department of Human Development and Family Studies at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro in 2015. Her work uses quantitative and qualitative methods to understand the ways school inequalities (e.g., school tracking, discipline disparities) shape youth self-perceptions and developmental outcomes.

(Previous Officers [2012-2015])

Chairperson: Steven Drouin, San Jose State University

Program Chair: Emily Hodge, Montclair State University

Membership Chair: Colette Cann, Vassar College 

Treasurer/Secretary:  Holly Yettick, Education Week Research Center

Web Manager: Kamilah Legette, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH