Meetings & Events
Meetings & Events
 
AERA 2022
Print

Arts and Inquiry in the Visual and Performing Arts in Education SIG

2022 Annual Meeting Program

SIG Business Meeting Friday, April 22, 6:00pm PDT (Friday, April 22, 9:00pm EDT) Arts and Inquiry in the Visual and Performing Arts in Education SIG Business Meeting Presentation by 2022 Outstanding Dissertation award winner Jody Stokes-Casey for "Art Education Shaping Historical Narratives In The Mississippi Delta: A Polyptych Study of Care”

Symposium Gradients-in-Relation: Distance as Continuous Variation in Artography
Saturday, April 23, 2:30pm PDT (Saturday, April 23, 5:30pm EDT)
Session Organizer: Anita Sinner
Chair: Angela Inez Baldus

     Living Inquiry: Going the Theoretical Distance
     Anita Sinner

     Artographic Dispositions: Methodological Possibilities for Continuous Variations
     Rita L. Irwin

     A Visual Prelude to Intensities
     Mariya Kovalevska A Collaborative

     Poetic Prelude to Ambiguties
     Elmira Sarreshtehdari, Yasaman Moussavi

     A Performative Prelude to Paradoxes
     Elly Yazdanpanah

Demonstration/Performance: Friday, April 22, 2:30pm PDT (Friday, April 22, 5:30pm EDT)
Aviary Aspirations: Modeling Dance and Science Pedagogies
Session Organizer: Laura Fattal
Laura Fattal, Lynn Needle

Off-Site Visit: Friday, April 22, 9:00am PDT (Friday, April 22, 12:00pm EDT)
Activist Togetherness in the Learning City: Creative Agency at Large
Session Organizer & Chair: Daniel X. Harris Visit Leader: David Rousell

Roundtable Sessions

Affect and the Body: Ways of Knowing, Learning, and Being Present
Thursday, April 21, 8:00am PDT (Thursday, April 21, 11:00am EDT)
Chair: Carolina Bergonzoni

     Creative Writing as a Way of Knowing Each Other in Digital Spaces
     Gemma Cooper-Novack, Karis Michelle Jones

     In Praise of Uncertainty, Ambiguity and Wonder
     Boyd Eric White

     Reclaiming the “Excessive Body” as a Vehicle for Change
     Carolina Bergonzoni

Approaches and Perspectives Surrounding Arts Learning
Friday, April 22, 8:00am PDT (Friday, April 22, 11:00am EDT)
Chair: Portia M. York

     Preservice Elementary Teachers’ Exploration of Ratio by Creating Mondrian Art
     Song An, So Jung Kim, Josefina V. Tinajero, Daniel Tillman

     New Directions for the Arts through the Connected Arts Learning Framework
     Kylie A. Pepper, Maggie Dahn, Lora Cawelti, R. Mishael Sedas

     Why Art Learning Matters: Parents’ Perspectives of Outside-of-School Art Programs
     Meng-Jung Yang

Artistic Inquiry for Reconciliation and Transformation
Saturday, April 23, 8:00am PDT (Saturday, April 23, 11:00am EDT)
Chair: Lama Alharbi

     Performing Concepts: Becoming Minor with the Arts
     Evan Crump

     Photographic Inquiry as a Mode of Aesthetic and Transformative Being and Knowing: Towards a Deweyan Inspired Understanding
     Wanfei Huang

     Smallest Circles First: Exploring Teacher Reconciliatory Praxis and Agency through Drama and Theatre Education in Canada
     Mindy Roberta Carter

 
 
AERA Links
Print
 
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH