SIG 41 Awards

Outstanding Conference Submission

This award recognizes an outstanding paper submission to SIG 41. All accepted papers to the SIG annual meeting program are eligible for the award. Finalists will be determined by reviewer ratings with the SIG 41 Awards Committee making the final selection. 

2023 Award Recipients - Hannah Cooke, University of Connecticut-Storrs; Rebecca Campbell-Montalvo, University of Connecticut; Chester Arnold, University of Connecticut-Storrs; Todd Campbell, University of Connecticut; John Volin, University of Maine; Marisa Chrysochoou, University of Connecticut-Storrs; Peter Diplock, University of Connecticut-Avery Point; Byung-Yeol Park, University of Connecticut-Storrs, "Interrogating Consequential Education Research: Exploring Social Networks Connecting Communities with a University Environmental Service-Learning Program"

2019 Award Recipients - Gary Harfitt and Jessie Chow, The University of Hong Kong, "Hearing the Community Voice in the Process of Teacher Education and Experiential Learning"

Outstanding Graduate Student Paper

This award recognizes an outstanding paper submission to SIG 41 where a student is the lead author. All student authors of accepted papers to the SIG annual meeting program are eligible for the award. Finalists will be determined by reviewer ratings with the SIG 41 Awards Committee making the final selection. Award winners receive a small honorarium. 

2023 Award Recipient - Qianhui Hub, DePaul University, "The Overlooked Majority: Uncover the Value of Exploring Non-traditional Students in E-Service-Learning" 

2021 Award Recipient - Carmine Perrotti, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, "Exploring Harm Through Service Learning and Community Engagement: A Case Study"

2019 Award Recipient - Marc Kuly, University of Winnipeg, "Settler-Colonial Service-Learning: The Troubling Difference in Preservice Teachers' Reactions to Refugee and Indigenous Learners"