Dear Colleagues:

I feel very much honored to announce the recipients for the 2015 AERA Division B Awards.

Please mark your calendars for the AERA Division B Business Meeting, Heartbreaking Loss, Radical Love, and Revolutionary Imagination, on Friday, April 17, 2015 (6:15--7:45pm; Hyatt, West Tower--Green Level, Crystal C). All the recipients for the 2015 AERA Division B Awards (i.e., Ella Baker/Septima Clark Human Rights Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, Outstanding Dissertation Award, Outstanding Service Award, Outstanding Book Award including Honorable Mention for Outstanding Edited Volume and Honorable Mention for Innovations in Curriculum Studies) will be introduced by the Award Committee Chairs. The recipient for the Ella Baker/Septima Clark Human Rights Award (Monisha Bajaj, University of San Francisco) and the recipients for the Lifetime Achievement Award (Craig Kridel, University of South Carolina; Henry A. Giroux, McMaster University) will deliver inspirational acceptance speeches (10 minutes). Certificates for Outstanding Service to Division B will be presented to Outgoing Program Co-Chairs and Section Co-Chairs. There will be some free books distributed at the Business Meeting. Our Business Meeting will be celebratory and invigorating!

On behalf of AERA Division B with more than 2000 members, I congratulate all the recipients for your extraordinary contributions to the field of curriculum studies. I am also sending my deepest appreciation and heartfelt thanks to all the Chairs and Members of 2015 AERA Division B Award Committees for the amazing wisdom, hard work, and invaluable time you put into the selection of such incomparable and worthy recipients in the midst of your crazily busy schedules.

Congratulations again to all the recipients! Many thanks again to all the recipients and award committee members for the incomparable contributions you have made to our Division B!

I am looking forward to seeing you all there!

Ming Fang He
AERA Division B VP (2014-2017)

Outstanding Dissertation Award


2015 AERA Division B Outstanding Dissertation Award Recipient:

Kerri Mesner
University of British Columbia

Dissertation Title: Wrestling with the Angels of Ambiguity: Scholarship in the In-Between: Queer Theology/Performative Autoethnography


Dissertation Chair: Carl Leggo

Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee:

Chair: Nathalia E. Jaramillo (, Kennesaw State University
Yer J. Thao (, Portland State University
Cynthia Cole Robinson (, Purdue University Calumet
Seungho Moon (, Oklahoma State University-Stillwater
Horace Hall (, DePaul University
Julie Maudlin (, Georgia Southern University
Sonia Janis (, University of Georgia 

Outstanding Book Award


2015 AERA Division B Outstanding Book Award Recipient:

Jen Gilbert

York University


Gilbert, J. (2014). Sexuality in school: The limits of education. Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Press.

2015 AERA Division B Outstanding Book Award Honorable Mention

Honorable Mention for Outstanding Edited Volume:


Eve Tuck

State University of New York at New Paltz


K. Wayne Yang

University of California--San Diego


Tuck, E., & Yang, K. W. (Eds.). (2014). Youth resistance research and theories of change (Critical Youth Studies). New York: Routledge.

Honorable Mention for Innovations in Curriculum Studies:


Elizabeth de Freitas

Adelphi University


Nathalie Sinclair

Simon Fraser University


de Freitas, E., & Sinclair, N. (2014). Mathematics and the body: Material entanglements in the classroom. New York: Cambridge University Press.

Outstanding Book Award Committee:

Chair: Robert J. Helfenbein (, Loyola University Maryland
Pauline Sameshima (, Lakehead University, Canada
Ugena Whitlock (, Kennesaw State University
Adrienne Dixson (, University of Illinois, Champaign, IL
Walter Gershon (, Kent State University

Ella Baker/Septima Clark Human Rights Award

2015 AERA Division B Ella Baker/Septima Clark Human Rights Award Recipient

Monisha Bajaj
University of San Francisco 

Ella Baker/Septima Clark Human Rights Award Committee:
Chair: Rubén Gaztambide-Fernández (, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at The University of Toronto 
B. Stephen Carpenter II (, Critical Social Media Studies, Art Education, Critical Visual Arts and Museum Studies, Critical Mixed Media Studies, The Pennsylvania State University
Adam Howard (, Activism, Diversity, and Social Justice in Education, Colby College, 4420 Mayflower Hill, Waterville, Maine 04901-8844
Lisa (Leigh) Patel (, Journalism, Sociology of Education, Undocumented Immigration, and Decolonized Research, Boston College
Troy Richardson (, Indigenous Philosophical Traditions, Indigenous Studies & Education, Cornell University

Lifetime Achievement Award

2015 AERA Division B Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients
There are two recipients this year.

Craig Kridel
University of South Carolina

Henry A. Giroux
McMaster University

Lifetime Achievement Award Committee:

Chair: Dr. William Ayers (, AERA Division B VP (2010-2012)

Beverly E. Cross (, University of Memphis
Nina Asher (, University Of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Therese Quinn (, School of Art and Art History, University of Illinois at Chicago
David Stovall (, College of Education, University of Illinois at Chicago
Patrick Camangian (, School of Education, University of San Francisco

Outstanding Service Award 

2015 AERA Division B Outstanding Service Award Recipient

Bernadette M. Baker
University of Wisconsin-Madison
AERA Division B Secretary (2011-2014) 

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH