2015 AERA SIG for Research on Teacher Induction Call for Awards Nominations: Janice Hooper Hold Outstanding Dissertation in Research on Teacher Induction

The Special Interest Group for Research on Teacher Induction is pleased to announce three awards for the Janice Hooper Hold Outstanding Dissertation in Research on Teacher Induction. These awards aim to recognize the work of graduate students who are addressing persistent issues of urgent concern to the field and have the potential to influence policy and practice in the area of teacher induction.

Please consider submitting nominations so that we, as a Special Interest Group, can showcase our graduate students’ excellent work, thereby building a stronger knowledge base and making our colleagues’ valuable contributions more widely known among educators and policymakers. Please note that all nomination materials must be submitted by January 15, 2015.

Award Description: This award recognizes a dissertation of exemplary conceptual, methodological, and literary quality on the important topic of teacher induction.  For this year’s award, dissertations completed between May 2012 and January 1, 2015 may be nominated. A dissertation may be submitted for consideration only once and can be nominated for an award within only one division or SIG of AERA. The committee uses a blind review process; only the awards committee chair will know the identity of the nominator and nominee.

Eligibility Criteria: The Outstanding Dissertation Award in Teacher Induction (First, Second, and Third Prizes) will be presented to the individual or individuals who meet the following criteria as approved by the SIG and Council:

  • Dissertations focused on teacher induction, regardless of the field (policy, leadership, evaluation, teacher education) will be considered for the award.
  • Authors are encouraged to nominate their own works; nomination by another scholar is unnecessary and it is not considered a substantive advantage.
  • For this year’s award, dissertations completed between May 2012 and January 1, 2015 may be nominated.

Nomination materials should include: (1) a one-page letter and overview from a member of the dissertation committee which can be sent separately from the other materials; (2) a title sheet showing the dissertation title, awarding institution, members of the dissertation committee, date of completion of the degree, and nominee’s current contact information; (3) the table of contents of the dissertation; and (4) a summary of the dissertation written in an accepted publication format (such as APA) not exceeding 7500 words in 12-point font, exclusive of title page, references, and appendices and without author identification. Self-nominations are accepted.

Nominees must be members of AERA and members of the SIG on Research in Teacher Induction. Materials and any questions or inquiries should be sent to: Amanda Bozack at Nominations and supporting materials must be received no later than January 15, 2014; all must be submitted electronically.

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH