Writing and Literacies SIG 137
Writing and Literacies SIG 137
Message from SIG Chair

Welcome to the Writing & Literacies SIG!

Welcome to the Writing and Literacies SIG, one of AERA's largest special interest groups and home to vibrant scholarship about people's literacy practices across the lifespan.

Each year, we work to offer a robust program at the annual AERA conference, thanks currently to the hard work of our Program Chair Anna Smith, our Treasurer Jayne Lammers, our Communication Chair Jamila Lyiscott, our SIG Service Team, and all of our volunteer reviewers. We encourage prospective and current members to connect to the community throughout the year by:

  • Following us on social media (Facebook - AERA Writing & Literacies SIG, Twitter - @writinglit) 
  • Listening to podcasts by writing and literacies scholars
  • Reading and contributing to our twice-yearly newsletters
  • Submitting a proposal to the SIG for the annual conference 
  • Making new connections on our Twitter Chat #literacies: http://literacieschat.wordpress.com
  • Volunteering for one of the service positions with the SIG
  • Signing up for the mentoring program at the yearly conference
  • Joining a SIG social hour at other conferences (e.g., Literacy Research Association)
  • Applying for one of our awards
  • Attending the business meeting at the conference to network with international literacy scholars and learn about local literacy initiatives

Stay tuned to our social media channels for updates and opportunities related to these activities through the year. We look forward to hearing from prospective and current members and encourage everyone to get involved in the SIG!

Amy Stornaiuolo
2019-2020 Writing & Literacies SIG Chair


SIG Purpose
To promote research in writing and literacy at all age levels and across cultural and social (including institutional) contexts; to provide a forum for idea exchange related to writing and literacy research, theory, and practice across disciplines.
Who We Are

We have over 600 members.  Consider joining us!

AERA Writing and Literacies SIG Executive Committee

AERA Writing and Literacies SIG Service

Writing and Literacies On Air Podcast Series
AERA 2020 Submissions Details

AM2020-Banner (1)


This is a reminder that the AERA proposal system is now open and closes on July 23, 11:59pm (Pacific Time). Please see the AERA Call for Proposals for more details

We are interested in submissions that reflect the conference theme focused on collaboration with a variety of educational organizations: The Power and Possibilities for the Public Good When Researchers and Organizational Stakeholders Collaborate.

You can read more about the conference theme here

Other Writing and Literacies SIG themes to consider that have been explored in the past include, but are not limited to:

  • Critical media literacies
  • Youth literacies, voice, and activism
  • Global and international literacies research
  • Multiplayer online gaming, video games, and literacy learning
  • Hip Hop and Spoken Word 
  • Content-area and disciplinary literacies
  • Sensory literacies and embodiment
  • Rural and urban literacies
  • Religious, faith-based, or spiritual literacies
  • Media and materials of literacy practices - old and new
  • Ecological literacies
  • Spatiality, networks or rhizomes in literacy practices
  • Digital composition
  • Pedagogies for teaching grammar for different social purposes
  • Multilingual literacies across contexts
  • Social media and literacy practices
  • Intersectionality of race, gender, and other identities in literacy practices 
  • Social and economic marginalization and literacy practice
  • Early childhood, primary, adolescent, and adult literacy practices
  • Literacy practices in homes and communities
  • Play, toys and early literacies
  • Literacy pedagogy, curriculum and assessment
  • Power, policy and literacy
  • Pre-service teachers, teachers and literacy pedagogies
  • Higher education, digital technologies and discourses
  • Writing development (early childhood, childhood, adolescent, adult)
  • Methodologies for studying multi-sited literacies phenomena
  • Translanguaging

Due to the allocated number of time slots, individual papers will be grouped with similar research. Also consider submitting a poster
presentation. Please remove any author identification material from the document when submitting your proposal for peer review.

You can find the details about session types and formats of submissions on the official AERA website.


Steve Cahir Writing and Literacies Research Award Recipient:


Jennifer VanDerHeide 

Assistant Professor Department of Teacher Education Ph.D., The Ohio State University


Graduate Student Award Plaque (presented by Rebecca Woodward):


Addie Shrodes

Graduate student at Northwestern University (USA). Paper title is: "Disrupting Ideological Media on YouTube: How Multimodal LGBTQ Response Videos Enact Critical Media Literacies."

Awards History

Steve Cahir Early Career Award for Research on Writing

Past winners:

Lindy L. Johnson (2017)
Amy Stornaiuolo (2015)
Amanda Kibler (2013)
JuliAnna Avila (2011)
Anne Whitney (2008)
Mari Haneda (2001)
David Wallace (1993)
Peter Smagorinsky (1991)
Melanie Sperling (1990)

Steve Witte Lifetime Achievement Award

Past winners:

George Newell (2018)
Jennifer Rowsell (2016)
Peter Smagorinsky (2014)
Linda Flower (2007)

Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award

Past winners:

Cassie Brownell (2018)
Ksenia Korobkova & Natalia Smirnov (2017)

Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH