2022 SEM SIG Annual Service Award

Starting in 2014, the SEM SIG began recognizing leaders within the SIG who have provided exceptional service over the years and also have made significant contributions to the discipline of structural equation modeling. We were delighted to present the 2022 award to Dr. George Marcoulides. Dr. Marcoulides is a Distinguished Professor of Research Methodology in the Gervitz Graduate School of Education at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Dr. Marcoulides is the Editor of the Structural Equation Modeling and Educational and Psychological Measurement journals. He also serves as the Editor of the Quantitative Methodology Book Series in addition to serving on numerous editorial boards of scholarly journals. He is widely recognized as a statistics expert in multivariate analyses, especially structural equation modeling methods. He has co-authored or co-edited 16 books, published over 250 articles in scholarly journals and books, and presented over 300 times at national and international conferences. He is a Fellow of the American Educational Research Association, a Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society, and a member of the Society of Multivariate Experimental Psychology. Over the past few decades, Dr. Marcoulides has made a tremendous contribution to the field of SEM and the SIG. Congratulations Dr. Marcoulides!

undefined George Marcoulides 


Please nominate a colleague or mentor for the 2023 Service Award!


For future reference, nominations for the award must be submitted no later than December 15.


  • The nominee must have contributed a significant amount of high quality service to the field of structural equation
    modeling and to the SEM SIG.          
  • The nominee must be a current member of the SEM SIG.
  • The nominee must have been a member of the SEM SIG for a minimum of five years.

The nomination must include the following two items:

  • A letter of nomination from at least one professional colleague who is an SEM SIG member providing evidence of the nominee’s service contributions to the field and to the SIG.  
  • Nominee’s curriculum vita.

Selection Criteria
The nominees will be assessed in terms of their contribution of exemplary service to the field of structural equation modeling and to the SEM SIG. The award winner will be announced at the AERA/SEM SIG business meeting and will receive a plaque.

Please submit applications electronically to Tiffany Whittaker at by December 15th, 2022.