The Tucson 2011 Suspension
The Tucson 2011 Suspension
 
Print

Session title:

The Tucson 2011 Suspension of the Mexican American Studies Program: An Analysis of the Role of Research in Addressing Social Justice Struggles Tied to Ethnic Studies Curricula

Education Researchers Explore the Role of Research and its Applications in Current Policy

On the basis of research supporting the teaching of ethnic studies curricula, the AERA Council released two resolutions in February urging the reinstatement of the suspended Mexican American Studies program in Tucson, Arizona, and the repeal of legislation enacted by the Arizona legislature that limited the teaching of ethnic studies in the state. Led by AERA President Arnetha F. Ball and Social Justice Action Committee chair Richard P. Duran, this session explores the research behind the resolutions.

Presidential Session

Cosponsor:

Social Justice Action Committee

Schedule Information:

Time: Monday, April 16, 2:15 p.m.–3:45 p.m.  

Building/Room: Vancouver Convention Centre, First Level - West Room 114&115

Session Participants:

Chair: Richard P. Duran (University of California - Santa Barbara) duran@education.ucsb.edu

Chair: Arnetha F. Ball (Stanford University) arnetha@stanford.edu

Participant: Arnetha F. Ball (Stanford University) arnetha@stanford.edu

Participant: Augustine Francis Romero (Tucson Unified School District) augustine.romero@tusd1.org

Participant: Julio Cammarota (The University of Arizona) julioc@u.arizona.edu

ParticipantChristine E. Sleeter (California State University - Monterey Bay) csleeter@gmail.com

Participant: Bryan McKinley Jones Brayboy (Arizona State University) bryan.brayboy@asu.edu


 
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH