Fisher V. University of Texas-Austin
Fisher V. University of Texas-Austin
 
Print

 Session title:

From Grutter v. Bollinger (2003) to Fisher v. University of Texas at Austin—Will Compelling Social Science Evidence on the Benefits of Diversity Prevail in Higher Education?

Education Researchers to Examine Research on Race-Conscious Admissions and the Constitutionality of the University of Texas Admissions Program

This session explores the role of research and its applications in current policy and legal actions involving the upcoming Supreme Court case Fisher v. University of Texas at Austin. Participants focus on social science research highlighting the benefits of diversity in educational settings, which is being challenged in Fisher in the current Supreme Court term. At issue is the undergraduate admissions program at UT-Austin, which includes race as one of several criteria considered when evaluating applicants. The panel looks at the arguments centered in social science research cited in the Supreme Court decision affirming the use of race in admissions at the University of Michigan Law School in Grutter v. Bollinger and its potential application in Fisher.

Presidential Session

Schedule Information:

Time: Monday, April 16, 12:25 p.m.–1:55 p.m.  

Building/Room: Vancouver Convention Centre, First Level - West Room 118-120

Session Participants:

Chair: Felice J. Levine (American Educational Research Association) flevine@aera.net

Participant: Gary A. Orfield (University of California - Los Angeles) Orfield@gmail.com

Participant: Sylvia Hurtado (University of California - Los Angeles) sylvia.hurtado@gmail.com

ParticipantChandra Muller (The University of Texas - Austin) cmuller@soc.utexas.edu

Participant: Nancy Cantor (Syracuse University) ncantor@syr.edu

ParticipantWilliam T. Trent (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) w-trent@uiuc.edu


 
Designed by Weber-Shandwick   Powered by eNOAH